Tilemap Questions

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:47 am

I'm still pretty new to Construct in general and I'm trying different things to see how I want to design my game. One of the things I am toying with using is a tile map in C3.

As a test I imported a sheet of tile images with the whole image being 1728 × 1280 and each tile 32x32 into the TileMap object. I know I might not need an image that has this many tiles, but I wanted to get a sense of how to use tile maps.
I am able to pick a tile and draw it on the screen without any issues. My problem comes in that I can only see a portion of the tile image to select tiles from in the tile map tab. I can't scroll the window to see more of the image. I can resize it a little and see more of the image to select additional tiles.

So I was wondering if this normal and I'm just using an image that is too big or should I be able to scroll the image so I can get to all parts of it. I definitely appreciate any feedback.

I am on a mac running chrome.
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:18 pm

You should have scrollbars. (i do)

But i do agree that ....

CTRL + mouse wheel could zoom in tilemap window.
SPACE + dragging mouse MUST drag (also) the tilemap window.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,472
Reputation: 20,908

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:47 pm

I don't see scroll bars on my mac in chrome
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:53 pm

Scroll bars tend to be hidden in OSX if the pointer is not on top of them. So maybe that is why you are not seeing them.

Right now you can scroll through the whole image by pressing the middle mouse button on top of it and moving the mouse around. This might be a problem if you don't have a middle mouse button thought, so I should implement another method to do that.
Scirra Employee
B
9
S
5
G
2
Posts: 147
Reputation: 2,331

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:58 pm

I'll give that a shot. I'm not near my mac book pro right now. Also you are right I don't have a middle mouse button, just the track pad.

I'll let you know if I can get the scroll bars.

Thank you.
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:06 pm

Just tried it out in our Mac Book Pro, and it definitely doesn't work.

I'll have to fix this one. Hopefully it won't be too much of a hassle.
Scirra Employee
B
9
S
5
G
2
Posts: 147
Reputation: 2,331

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:08 pm

Thank you for checking into this so quickly.

You guys are doing a great job working through the beta issues...
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:26 pm

Do you want me to enter a bug for this ?
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:55 pm

I did file a bug, 464

Thanks again for looking into this..
B
14
S
6
G
6
Posts: 27
Reputation: 4,104

Post » Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:55 pm

Oh cool, yeah I forgot to mention that.

If you want us to look into something it is better to file a bug. It is more difficult to keep track of messages in the forum.
Scirra Employee
B
9
S
5
G
2
Posts: 147
Reputation: 2,331

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests