Tiling the image

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:01 pm

Hello guys!
Ive got one problem. Im using around 9 7500x768 pixel images in my game and its using alot of vram. I want to optimize my game , so i need to make these images tiled , but how ? Doing this all in photoshop (making hundreds of small images) and then combining them together in editor is just pain in the a** . Is there any way to make it alot easier?

Best,
Erick eony321v2012-04-01 13:23:17
B
20
S
5
G
4
Posts: 39
Reputation: 3,898

Post » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:20 am

7500 is insane! I wouldn't want to go any higher than 2048.

Do you know how to use Photoshop's offset tool? That can help a lot with getting images to tile. And then of course you can just import it into Construct as a tiled background. I understand the frustration though. I'm an artist and would love to use dozens of large unique parallax backgrounds on each of my levels, but that cursed VRAM keeps getting in the way :P

Let me know if you need a hand with the Photoshop work, and I'll see if I can give some pointers or lend you a hand.
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:30 pm

[QUOTE=-Silver-] 7500 is insane! I wouldn't want to go any higher than 2048.

Do you know how to use Photoshop's offset tool? That can help a lot with getting images to tile. And then of course you can just import it into Construct as a tiled background. I understand the frustration though. I'm an artist and would love to use dozens of large unique parallax backgrounds on each of my levels, but that cursed VRAM keeps getting in the way :P

Let me know if you need a hand with the Photoshop work, and I'll see if I can give some pointers or lend you a hand.[/QUOTE]
Thanks. I just need to make a group of small images from a large one , for example from 1000x1000 make 10x(100x100) .
I think that this could be done with a slice tool , but i dont exactly understand how to do it fast and accurate . Is there any way to just make 2x 500 pixel images from 1x 1000 pixel and then just combine them in CC ?
B
20
S
5
G
4
Posts: 39
Reputation: 3,898

Post » Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:39 pm

Yup, using the slice tool. There are plenty of tutorials online for how to use it. Here are a couple I found on the first page of a google search:

http://www.mediacollege.com/adobe/photoshop/tool/slice.html
http://www.adobepress.com/articles/article.asp?p=1661108

That will cut up the images to whichever size you choose. From there, you just import them into Construct as usual and align them.

EDIT: Something else worth mentioning: I'm not 100% sure, but I think it's easier on the VRAM or loading times... or something... if the image sizes are a multiple of 32 pixels. So 500 would be 512. 1000 would 1024. There's a possibility I'm crazy and making this all up in my head, but I think that's the reason textures in games are always saved in these slightly odd sizes. Something about it just makes it faster/easier to process. Might be worth tweaking the images a little first (extending the height to 1024) and then cutting them down to 512 instead of 500.-Silver-2012-04-02 12:43:53
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:03 pm

[QUOTE=-Silver-] Yup, using the slice tool. There are plenty of tutorials online for how to use it. Here are a couple I found on the first page of a google search:

http://www.mediacollege.com/adobe/photoshop/tool/slice.html
http://www.adobepress.com/articles/article.asp?p=1661108

That will cut up the images to whichever size you choose. From there, you just import them into Construct as usual and align them.

EDIT: Something else worth mentioning: I'm not 100% sure, but I think it's easier on the VRAM or loading times... or something... if the image sizes are a multiple of 32 pixels. So 500 would be 512. 1000 would 1024. There's a possibility I'm crazy and making this all up in my head, but I think that's the reason textures in games are always saved in these slightly odd sizes. Something about it just makes it faster/easier to process. Might be worth tweaking the images a little first (extending the height to 1024) and then cutting them down to 512 instead of 500.[/QUOTE]

Thanks ! Yes, you are right about the size of the images.
I dont exactly know how to explain this in more detail in english, but how can i make same sized images from a big one ? For example i want Photoshop to highlight 10x (100x100 small images) from 1000 x 1000 one. I thing this could be done with grid , but i need some help with it`s configuration , because i don`t really get how it can be done.
So, what do i need to type in in grid settings , to make the grid cut my image for a multiple of 32 pixels , as you said ?eony321v2012-04-02 13:04:33
B
20
S
5
G
4
Posts: 39
Reputation: 3,898

Post » Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:31 pm

1) Open your image in Photoshop.

2) Locate the 'Crop' button on the left hand side tool bar, click and hold until some more options appear, and then click on the 'Slice Select' tool when it appears.

3) Click on the 'Divide' button at the top of the screen (on the Slice toolbar)

4) Choose how many times you want to cut the image up, and what sizes you want them at. It should be set up to divide them all equally by default.

5) ???

6) Profit!

From there, you can alter the size of your images so that they are all multiples of 32 pixels. Or you can resize the image first, and then cut it up. So long as you don't need to enlarge the images too much, you shouldn't see any noticeable loss in quality.
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:10 pm

[QUOTE=-Silver-] 1) Open your image in Photoshop.

2) Locate the 'Crop' button on the left hand side tool bar, click and hold until some more options appear, and then click on the 'Slice Select' tool when it appears.

3) Click on the 'Divide' button at the top of the screen (on the Slice toolbar)

4) Choose how many times you want to cut the image up, and what sizes you want them at. It should be set up to divide them all equally by default.

5) ???

6) Profit!

From there, you can alter the size of your images so that they are all multiples of 32 pixels. Or you can resize the image first, and then cut it up. So long as you don't need to enlarge the images too much, you shouldn't see any noticeable loss in quality.[/QUOTE]

Thanks alot !
B
20
S
5
G
4
Posts: 39
Reputation: 3,898


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests