Time rewind demo (like in Braid)

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:10 pm

Hi there,

I am trying to get that time rewind effect like on Braid.
Arrow keys(movement), shift(jump) and a(time rewind) are used.



Youtubevideo with a test with sound :D --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alnWgyRzDso

[Ver. 0.2] changes:
- now animations and animation angles are correctly reversed also

Ver. 0.2:
[url:3enl59i6]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/26932498/time_rewind_V0.2.exe[/url:3enl59i6]

[Ver. 0.1]
- rewinding position(x,y) of player
- animations and other stuff won't rewind yet


I will update this post if I got anything new.
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:50 am

It looks great ;-). How have you done that ??
B
6
S
1
G
3
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:07 pm

I am planning to make a little tutorial later, with a sample .cap.
It's done with a few arrays that record any move that i make.
The FPS are 60 with 5-6 arrays, so everythings works at the moment.
It's a bit RAM claimed^^...so it takes 100mb now, because I have no
dynamic arrays :C. Maybe to save the information to a file or make
rewinding time maximal for 10 seconds and then it reloads.
Then it will be much less RAM claimed.

Shall I make a tutorial with the basic function or explaine everything
(like, how works the array) so everyone understand it?


for the advanced construct users:
For rewinding like in Braid(infinite rewind until you are at the level beginning)
At the moment i browse through the index of each arrow forwards and backwards.
I have to predefine the array size..so if I make the array 400 in the width. I can only
rewind the time 400 steps backwards. With no dynamic array it impossible to set the size of the array at "realtime" because it will clear itself and the information are deleted :/

Any Idea? Maybe make every 400 steps a file that saves the values and for every file
a counter variable gets +1, so I can call the files backwards lol. Maybe with dynamic file names(_1,_2,_3). Like that each array could be 400 in a size and the time rewind is infinitly like in braid.
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:23 pm

Awesome!

Really impressive, nice work
B
10
S
4
G
5
Posts: 136
Reputation: 2,977

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:30 pm

You might try Rojo's path plug. I made an example way back.
[url:25fpe3iv]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5962&hilit=newt+braid[/url:25fpe3iv]

It might be outdated for newer versions of the plug.
If it is just set the object placement on the path first, before you start the movement.

Also check the forum Toralord did a version using "S".
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:31 am

Thanks for that info.
The S plugin thing seems good, but can't get it to work anymore.
The .cap seems corrupted :C. I tried already an older version of Construct.


Edit:Ah now it works, had to update the s-plugin to a newer version :D
Will try it out and improve my .cap :P
Thanks again.
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2011 1:10 am

You can set the size of an array at runtime using the 'set size' action. It retains the previous information as well.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2011 2:38 am

If I change the size by "allways --> my array --> set size " to my count variable which increases whenever I move, It gives 0 all the time...if I press reverse I am in the upper left corner :/
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2011 3:28 am

I wonder if this can be adapted somehow to make a replay system for sports video games? I've never been able to figure out how to do that in Construct.
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2011 3:31 am

I looked into the example with the s-plugin, made by toralord.
The s-plugin may increase itself by adding a new value if I choose "how to add --> insert"

Shiru, you asked me for a tutorial. As I wrote, toralord already has posted a nice .cap
in this thread-> [url:20ee18d1]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6291&start=20[/url:20ee18d1]
scroll down a bit and download it.
You need the Splugin to open it.
link: [url:20ee18d1]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1013446/New%20folder%20%286%29/s.rar[/url:20ee18d1]

If you anyway want me to do a tutorial to understand how the whole thing works,
then just reply here and I will make the tutorial, based on toralords .cap.
Because its much easier with the s-plugin :) .
B
24
S
9
G
2
Posts: 294
Reputation: 3,160

Next

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest