Timeframe for EXE exporter?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:17 pm

[QUOTE=plauk]
I'm guessing the best response to that will be about as reassuring as it was when I discovered the gamepad support in The Binding of Isaac consists of "google JoyToKey".[/QUOTE]

I had a nice big L O L when I read that.
: D

As Ashley noted what many of us (I think) feel; namely, that an EXE will always be, perhaps, a "gamer's preference." I certainly feel that way, in any event -but then again, HTML5 is in its infancy. But it's definitely nice to have everything as a neat and tidy little packaged EXE, wouldn't you say?

However, I feel that there are more important functions and features to work on and implement into C2 (like, ha ha, functions), before EXE support. I wouldn't care too much for an EXE supporter for C2 if C2 itself didn't have many of the integral and intuitive features of Construct Classic!

In other words I can play the waiting game whilst I continue to work, train myself, and experiment with Construct Classic 1.2. Ever since the shiny new brother C2 arrived on the scene, people seem to forget about the old gal.
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,945

Post » Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:43 pm

[QUOTE=newt] I'd just like to point out that there's no such thing as a gig game.
Anything that big would have an exe that's some mere megabytes, and the rest is resources.[/QUOTE]

@newt, this is the truth. What @Ashley said about CC, that a 1GB game is too much, I dunno what he was referring to. I remember in my RPG Maker 2k3 days, I've made a 550MB game, and as primitive as RM2k3 is, didn't seem to have a problem. This game also had 120 layouts.

The truth is that my game is big, because of the resources. I mean, music are the heaviest resources in the game, for the most part, some images might be big, but I plan to not make them to so, if possible. Sound FXs, there's gonna be a lot. Sprites do not weight anything significant. Sure, the game has a lot layouts, I dunno how this affects the performance of CC or C2. If you look at the right of This menu, all of those options, except for "Quit" and "Back", are all different layouts, in this menu alone there's 9. And maybe more layouts, INSIDE the options, but I'm not sure. Other than resources, what else can impact the size of a game, so greatly, that it is too much for CC or C2? Can layouts weight a game down?
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:02 am

@VampyricalCurse
It all depends on how you lay out your project.

I have a team right now, who are working on a serious project using CC, and feasibly this thing might be a little unworldly. We already have 3D projected entities using 2D objects, and a 3D "point cloud" system. The game assets are going to be in the hundreds of Mb, if not even in the Gb by the time we get there...

You have to "modularize" your project. Make sure your assets are not embedded in the EXE itself, rather kept externally (encrypted or not, your choice). Make sure you are using methods for optimising what assests are loaded into memory, and when. All of these things can help make a game really any size you want... you just have to be clever with the way you splice everything together. I have even seen people make a game using several EXE's... which one EXE can quit itself and load another.

Clever boys and girls can make the best anything ;)


~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:13 am

@SoldjahBoy: Reading this, it shouldn't be a problem. I do not plan on: Music and Sound FXs embedded. Sprites yes, and lay out elements too. These should not take up much space. I am not trying to make 3D here either, just 2D. The heaviest resources will be external anyway. I do not think it should be a problem?VampyricalCurse2011-10-31 03:14:16
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:30 am

I really do need EXE exporter,
because most of my friends still use IE7, and don't know how to download/install Firefox/Chrome....
B
17
S
3
G
6
Posts: 17
Reputation: 4,602

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:40 am

What? Seriously? Installing Chrome or Firefox is easier than installing your typical game. All you have to do is hit the big blue thing on http://www.google.com/chrome or download FF in your language from http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all.html and execute the install package.

Besides, your friends are at a high security risk if they do not update their IE to latest version.Mipey2011-10-31 11:44:06
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:19 pm

Browser share is a thing I think time will fix - after a year or two I'm sure IE8 and earlier will become the new IE6.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:12 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley]Try making a game using one of the 'fullscreen in browser' options. Then hit F11. In the top 3 major browsers, you're now playing in hardware-accelerated fullscreen. Fullscreen gaming is perfectly possible in HTML5. The main barrier is people aren't used to it - like you say you assume you need an EXE to play fullscreen, but it's perfectly possible to do it in a browser, you probably have just never hit F11 to play a fullscreen browser game before.[/QUOTE]

I'm aware that you can go fullscreen in browsers. Chrome seems to do it best, but still causes issues when the mouse hovers near the top of the screen (while testing my breakout clone, a little item scrolls onto the screen informing me that I can leave fullscreen by hitting F11 again... in the process I lose mouse control... and my ball sails right past the paddle... 1 life lost, thanks Chrome.)

Firefox's idea of fullscreen appears to include leaving a menubar at the top of the screen and the windows taskbar down the bottom... unless there's an option for "actual" fullscreen that I haven't found.

To be honest I haven't used Internet Explorer since the late 90's, so I'm not sure how it handles it.

Browsers always have been, and always will be quirky. There'll always be inconsistencies between the browsers, and I'll likely have to accommodate the fact that people will stick to their browser of choice, rather than the one that plays my game better. This is ironic, in that html5 games are supposed to be platform independent, but have become somewhat reliant on the browser they are being played in, merely moving the "platform" variable one step further along. Games will now run on a Mac and PC, as long as those Macs and PCs are running latest generation browsers. This is fine for certain things, but it's a trade off nonetheless.

The recent update that allows fullscreen zooming is pretty awesome, and I implemented it the second I updated, but even with the superior aspect ratio handling compared to CC, it still results in a game that is unreleasable because of issues running it within the browser environment. And my crisp and chunky pixel graphics are unavoidably blurred with the linear scaling that I can't turn off (I'm sure it will be possible to choose nearest neighbour in the future... maybe).

I understand and agree that focusing on html5 (at least for now) is the best choice for a small company with limited resources - putting those resources into the features that are likely to create mass appeal, and the ability to make games that have the least impediments to getting the gaming equivalent of "bums on seats" (I guess it's still bums on seats?)... realistically, browser games made in Construct2 are more likely to be played by the majority of people than the equivalent exe games, and it's quite true that the majority of people who use Construct to make games will only ever make small, short attention span type games. And maybe in the future, the distinction between operating system and web browser will be gone entirely... and everyone will be running a Chrome OS, and all apps will run inside, side by side and on top of the browser environment... even Construct will be a browser based application, and you'll be able to run browsers inside browsers!

Honestly, I don't think that revolution has happened yet, or is likely to happen quite so soon - and even if it would be awesome, I still hope the current generation of games aren't hobbled by being too far ahead of their time.

I'm all in favour of an Exe wrapper (essentially it would be an html5 browser that doesn't do anything except run the game, correct?) as a temporary work-around. As an optional plugin, I don't think your fears that people would be confused about it are anything to worry about assuming the exporter is clearly labelled as "HTML5 Application" or something along those lines. If it can get around some of the 3rd party browser hassles, then I'll beta test the bejesus out of it.

[QUOTE=Ashley]HTML5 is unlikely to ever out-perform a native EXE, so there's still a solid case to make an EXE exporter for performance reasons.[/QUOTE]

That goes without saying.

Also, thanks for staying in the conversation that I'm sure you're sick to hell of by now.
B
28
S
7
G
7
Posts: 102
Reputation: 6,483

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:29 pm

[QUOTE=plauk]I'm aware that you can go fullscreen in browsers. Chrome seems to do it best, but still causes issues when the mouse hovers near the top of the screen[/quote]
The Mouse Lock API would probably fix this.

[quote]Firefox's idea of fullscreen appears to include leaving a menubar at the top of the screen and the windows taskbar down the bottom[/quote] Seems to work here - you just have to wait a moment and the menu bar at the top slides away and then you're totally fullscreen. Same with IE9.

[quote]my crisp and chunky pixel graphics are unavoidably blurred with the linear scaling that I can't turn off[/quote]
I'm also aware this is a major problem, and I have in fact been trying to make noises at the standards committee to properly support this, and they seemed receptive, but it may take time to sort out.

[quote]Browsers always have been, and always will be quirky.[/quote]
Only with new features, and HTML5 is the bleeding edge. For example, in the latest generation of browsers, I think you'll be hard pressed to find any CSS2 quirks - at least none that matter, anyway. So once HTML5 has been around a while I think it will be pretty solid - it's only a matter of time.

In other words, I think every single concern raised in this thread will be solved, it's only a matter of time. These problems do exist, but they exist because HTML5 is so new. Once it's had some time to mature, all these problems will be solved. Don't look at where HTML5 is, look at where it's going.

Perhaps we can look in to an official EXE wrapper after all. But if the problems of HTML5 get fixed soon, what's the point? The only real advantage of an EXE that I can see is the speed, and if you're embedding a browser in an EXE, you don't get any extra speed! It's no faster than a browser on the web. Then you get the disadvantage of trying to persuade a security-conscious public to download an EXE file and OK all the security warnings they get.

So try looking at it from my point of view: the way things are going, an EXE wrapper around HTML5 provides some disadvantages, and no advantages.

[quote]Also, thanks for staying in the conversation that I'm sure you're sick to hell of by now.[/QUOTE]
No worries, it's an interesting subject!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:44 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley]Perhaps we can look in to an official EXE wrapper after all. But if the problems of HTML5 get fixed soon, what's the point?

So try looking at it from my point of view: the way things are going, an EXE wrapper around HTML5 provides some disadvantages, and no advantages.[/QUOTE]

Steam isn't an advantage?
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, Elliott, R0J0hound, Televangelist and 16 guests