Timescale doesn't apply to webGL effects

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed May 20, 2015 1:38 pm

Problem Description
When setting timescale to 0 (and likely modified to any value), webGL effects don't seem to be affected by it.

Attach a Capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36472942/construct/bugs/WebGl_Timescale_r205.2.capx

Description of Capx
Sprite has the "Water" WebGL effect.
Sprite2 is just a looping animation for demonstration purposes.
Button sets the timescale to 0 (the idea is to use it to pause the execution of the game)
Button2 sets the timescale back to 1 ("unpause")

Click the button (Pause) and button2 (Unpause)

Observed Result
Sprite2 (colors) do stop its execution, whereas the water WebGl effect is still applied and "moving" when timescale is set to 0

Expected Result
That the water effect on Sprite stops as well when Timescale is set to 0 to fully pause the game.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: YES
  • FireFox: YES
  • Internet Explorer: Not tested

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 7 pro; Chrome 43; FF 38.0.1

Construct 2 Version ID
205.2 beta
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,317
Reputation: 87,483

Post » Wed May 20, 2015 11:06 pm

Do fx use frames?
Then what about timescale for individual objects?
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,224
Reputation: 105,067

Post » Thu May 21, 2015 7:15 am

this issue i think i encountered 4 months ago or more when i was doing a jumping game, and used webgl effects for lava heat temperature inside a volcano, and if i remember correctly the webgl glass effects where not affected by the pause (timescale) . however not sure if they are good to be stopped on pause, no game pauses the effects as it make it look more cool, unless its a effect on some character and not on some environmental object(as water, room temperature, sun heat)

dident think'd was actually a bug :D


the game was on old arcade, some weird title volcano escape on this account or the other1 that was linked to this mail i have maybe it helps if there is a backup of the arcade, from back then and check the actually release of the game and time of bug, for sure was a beta c2 version il try search my computer if wold help in anyway
B
70
S
20
G
67
Posts: 1,315
Reputation: 42,303

Post » Thu May 21, 2015 1:15 pm

I think the biggest issue is that fx can have what ever arbitrary value the creator decides to use.
You can use the timescale expressions and compensate there, but I think the best bet is to change the shader parameters manually when you change the timescale.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,224
Reputation: 105,067

Post » Tue May 26, 2015 10:20 am

I can reproduce, but this does not appear to be a regression and we're due a stable release, so I will postpone a fix until the next beta cycle.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Fri Jun 05, 2015 12:49 pm

Should be fixed in the next beta.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests