Too CPU consumption.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:23 pm

Hello, please, I wonder why so much CPU is being consumed in this capx.

When I run in "debug mode" I have a consumption of 80% approx. in the CPU.
Intel i5 2800GHz
I do not understand that occurs, there is virtually no object that is consuming that amount of cpu.

Any ideas?.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/60803633/testCollision.capx


Image
Last edited by The Mnk on Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
28
S
11
G
19
Posts: 701
Reputation: 13,118

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:51 pm

have you tried changing tabs from default view in debbuger to "watch" tab? when first tab is open it calculates loads of variables and it takes a lot of CPU to do that, so it doesn't really show precise data. Add some variable that you are interested in to watch, and then swap to watch tab.
Sea Monsters template - Isometric
Also includes 40 pages PDF of optimizations and "how-to" for your games, and how the "sea monsters" template was built. Follow link for details :)

sea-monsters-templates-and-assets_t162705
B
39
S
14
G
12
Posts: 617
Reputation: 9,297

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:02 pm

Ok, I think in "watch" consumption is more reasonable, I guess the "inspect" tab need too many operations to run?.

Still, I think the tab should work fluidly, why so much CPU load ?.
B
28
S
11
G
19
Posts: 701
Reputation: 13,118

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:49 pm

I get 1% CPU Load, 60fps in Chrome/Edge (i5-3330S) and 52~60fps in Chrome/Galaxy S4.
B
48
S
15
G
6
Posts: 518
Reputation: 7,138

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:18 pm

It's strange, I keep getting 80-90% CPU load on Chrome, latest version, Win7 64bit.
B
28
S
11
G
19
Posts: 701
Reputation: 13,118

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:26 pm

I HAVE 24 fps in inspector but 80% cpu
B
103
S
25
G
42
Posts: 1,877
Reputation: 32,897

Post » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:55 pm

@Mirlas - it's ok. i have 4860HQ processor (3.6Ghz quad ) and load goes up to 75% when i run it.

it's normal because of load of threading and variables that are updated each tick. which means 75x second each variable has to be updated on my pc (if your refresh rate is 60 then 60 times).
anyway point is that if you follow 3000 variables x 75 = 225000 updates per second. and now each variable takes (For example 10 - 100 ops ) = 2 - 22.5 millions of operations per second. hard for cpu it is.
Sea Monsters template - Isometric
Also includes 40 pages PDF of optimizations and "how-to" for your games, and how the "sea monsters" template was built. Follow link for details :)

sea-monsters-templates-and-assets_t162705
B
39
S
14
G
12
Posts: 617
Reputation: 9,297

Post » Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:02 pm

Debug mode consumes extra resourse. Use <fps> expression to read fps instead.
Or @rexrainbow 's <fps> plugin is recommended.
B
70
S
15
G
4
Posts: 187
Reputation: 7,330

Post » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:31 pm

Thank you all for the info.

Yes, I usually write the fps on screen but was curious to see CPU consumption.
B
28
S
11
G
19
Posts: 701
Reputation: 13,118

Post » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:38 pm

You can also use cpuutilization to show your cpu use on screen.
B
102
S
38
G
18
Posts: 954
Reputation: 17,443

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: greenleafvt and 1 guest