Touch Controls

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:37 pm

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR IT ONLY NUDGES IT (except jump/up arrow)! This has happened before and I dismissed it as a noob mistake but I've gone through several touch tutorials including ashley's but still NO AVAIL!


WHAT AM I MISSING PEOPLE!

Thanks


Capx
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,531

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:46 pm

-I feel I'm missing a Touch>On help Sprite(rightArrow)>simulate platform pressing right

-That I believe would save it? I also tried copy and pasting the "Simulate platform pressing right" thinking that would increase the nudge but that didn't work.

-Also 'default controls' is set to no on the player.


-Edit: oh and 8Direction doesn't work with this either haha

-Here take a look for yourself



-Also the collision polygons for the 'arrows' are intentionally overlapping although they need polishing.Sulli2013-06-06 15:51:09
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,531

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:47 pm

Instead of "on touched" use the condition "is touching object".

On touched is a trigger that only executes once.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
296
S
119
G
96
Posts: 7,332
Reputation: 71,306

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:54 pm

Here Oscar Sullivan declares his love for @Kyatric ;-)

Thanks dude.

When would you use the 'on touched object- selct oject' condition?
Also what does the green arrow mean? I always thought that meant you get to pick an object rather than general touches man I embarrass myself
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,531

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:57 pm

As I mentioned, the green arrow means it is a trigger.

An example for the use of a trigger would be using a potion in an inventory. You would use a "on touched" condition that would allow to only replenish health once and delete the object.

"Is touching" allows you to check for the user's input over time, which is what you wanted in the case of moving your character.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
296
S
119
G
96
Posts: 7,332
Reputation: 71,306

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:05 pm

@Kyatric thanks!

Btw does your Ludei cacoonJS app forceclose on opening it on ICS android?? Just updates my samsung galaxy s2 and it wont start Sulli2013-06-06 16:06:31
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,531


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests