Touch plugin bug when updating touch coords

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:40 am

Message: atmavan2 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 3 URLS modified. Why?
Better to show example:
https://gamepad.com.au/examples/games/TouchBug/

This is simple Sprite with Drag and Drop behavior.
Try to drag with mouse and then with touch (developer mode, any phone or tablet simulator)
You will see difference: when exactly sprites is getting new coordinates when started moving.
With mouse it is perfect.
But with touch, cursor (circle) should travel some distance (hope it is half touch radius) until it starts updating coords. You can see how sprite jumps (once in the beginning) when you try to drag it with touch.
Try move as slow as possible to see exact issue.
Touch coords is disabled once you move cursor withing touch radius, even if move a lot (circular movements)

Cannot solve this issue, faced it in few projects.
Thank you for any advice.

Example src file: https://gamepad.com.au/scirra/TouchBug.capx
https://gamepad.com.au/scirra/TouchBugC3.c3p
Last edited by atmavan2 on Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
B
8
S
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 418

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:45 am

atmavan2 wrote:Better to show example:
https://gamepad.com.au/examples/games/TouchBug/

This is simple Sprite with Drag and Drop behavior.
Try to drag with mouse and then with touch (developer mode, any phone or tablet simulator)
You will see difference: when exactly sprites is getting new coordinates when started moving.
With mouse it is perfect.
But with touch, cursor (circle) should travel some distance (hope it is half touch radius) until it starts updating coords. You can see how sprite jumps (once in the beginning) when you try to drag it with touch.
Try move as slow as possible to see exact issue.
Touch coords is disabled once you move cursor withing touch radius, even if move a lot (circular movements)

Cannot solve this issue, faced it in few projects.
Thank you for any advice.


Please follow the Bug report REQUIREMENTS if you want this to be investigated by Ashley or he will likely just close this.

Thanks
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
147
S
33
G
89
Posts: 5,992
Reputation: 62,799

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:45 pm

Can't reproduce on a HTC 10: even very small touch movements are tracked by the drag & drop behavior. There is no minimum distance implemented in our engine, but it's possible some types of touchscreen require a small amount of movement before it starts registering a moving touch. I presume this is the issue, so closing.
Scirra Founder
B
415
S
248
G
92
Posts: 25,291
Reputation: 200,966

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:34 pm

it resgisters touch movement itself immediately but gives real TouchX and TouchY only when you left touch radius
Tested on Android 4.4.2 Samsung Note 3 9005
B
8
S
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 418


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests