TR free knowledge #1

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:11 pm

SAG wrote:First of all thanks for the Tuts! :D

Secondly, do you know if you can monetize games using intel's XDK or other plugins for free or do you have to pay royalties? thanks a bunch! :D


Yes you can but in current situation it depends what you need. With official IAP plugin you can implement managable products (for instance a premium account), but it doesn't support "consume" action which is needed for non-consumables (gold coins for instance). Why Scirra didn't implement this feature? I have no idea, it seems so fundamental.

You can instead use Cranberrygame Cordova IAP plugin which is available to purchase in the plugins bundle for around $5.

I have also requested for the plugin upgrade recently here viewtopic.php?f=146&t=170646 but for some reason noone upvoted this request. Probably everybody got used to use Cranberrygame plugins. I doubt anyone is using the official one.
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
79
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 44,245

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:12 pm

@BackendFreak Many thanks !!! I tested both solutions and both give a successful build. The second solution took a while because I created a branch from official githib and made the modifications specified in Solution 2
In appodeal plugin, what is the equivalent of Preload Ad ? Is it Chache Ad or Initialize?
..or initialize is supposed to be triggered only once to establish the connection with appodeal server?
I don't know is something I did wrong, but I cannot display video ads (1 week ago they worked)
B
81
S
21
G
23
Posts: 515
Reputation: 18,702

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:16 pm

glerikud wrote:
BackendFreak wrote:Do you have any particular feature you whould like me to cover regarding C2 and PHP or just an overall manual how to send data from/to PHP with C2?

I think secure connection and data-transfer to an SQL server would be great.


Allright! Will put it on my list. There are many ways to secure data transfer, some also depends on the project, but I'll write about some common and universal ways.

I'll try to write it in the upcomming days.
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
79
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 44,245

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:22 pm

Cipriux wrote:@BackendFreak Many thanks !!! I tested both solutions and both give a successful build. The second solution took a while because I created a branch from official githib and made the modifications specified in Solution 2
In appodeal plugin, what is the equivalent of Preload Ad ? Is it Chache Ad or Initialize?
..or initialize is supposed to be triggered only once to establish the connection with appodeal server?
I don't know is something I did wrong, but I cannot display video ads (1 week ago they worked)


Glad the build is succesfull! ;)

1. At start of the game you Initialize the types of ads you want to use in game. This should be done only once.

2. Before initializing anything you have to set options. In my case I have confirmed that I want to display skippable video and disable auto caching (as you probably saw on the screenshot)

3. Equivalent of "preload ad" here is "cache ad". Caching basically means "load to memory".

Let me know how it went.

BTW: I had black screen after first game run as well, but then everything went fine. Maybe there is some "handshake" going on at first run.
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
79
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 44,245

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:27 pm

@BackendFreak OK, that makes more sense. Yes, I also saw your image example but i was not sure. Can you confirm that skippable ads are working for you? I can only show Interstitials and banners but not skippable ads
B
81
S
21
G
23
Posts: 515
Reputation: 18,702

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:31 pm

Yes with the setup I have on the screenshot both work for me but I had situations that I had like 5 Interstitials in the row before a video appeared so try it several times. Also remember that you have to confirm using the skippable video (as I did on the screenshot).
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
79
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 44,245

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:33 pm

@BackendFreak OK, Thanks, I will try more :)
B
81
S
21
G
23
Posts: 515
Reputation: 18,702

Post » Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:17 am

BackendFreak wrote:Allright! Will put it on my list. There are many ways to secure data transfer, some also depends on the project, but I'll write about some common and universal ways.

I'll try to write it in the upcomming days.

Great, thanks :) Looking forward to it.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:25 am

@glerikud I wrote tutorial about secure PHP connections as you asked. Please take a look here as I want to keep everyting on one place now to avoid some mess: tutorials-by-toby-r_t171327
ImageImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
79
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 44,245

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:39 am

BackendFreak wrote:@glerikud I wrote tutorial about secure PHP connections as you asked. Please take a look here as I want to keep everyting on one place now to avoid some mess: tutorials-by-toby-r_t171327

Great, thanks. :) It's a very informative tutorial. I have only one question: Where does your CBHash.SHA1(...) comes from? Is it a plugin?

I found one misspelling:
How to hack AJAX request?: coross-domain
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Prominent, PROxMTswatTR and 8 guests