Transparency help.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Nov 07, 2012 8:17 pm

Hi, so I make all the sprites I use in MS Paint, and then paste them into the editor on Construct Classic. This has been working excellent for the three months I've been working on the game, but all of a sudden the editor started changing the colors of the sprites whenever they are selected in the editor.


What they look like in MS Paint:


What they look like once pasted into the editor and then deselected:


Also for some reason I can't select the white space as much as I normally can, the selections with the wand tool end up looking like this:


Anyone have a solution for me? I would hate to lose this project after working on it for so long just because the editor stopped working...
B
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 322

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:51 am

Try RGB of 255,0,255 for the background instead of white, that's the default transparent color when you copy external images into the editor.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:33 am

Ok, that fixed one problem. Thank a lot, i can at least manage somewhat now.

But the editor still changes the color of anything that is pasted into it. Whenever I use a select tool, the color of the selection starts to fade out till it's transparent, and then only dims the pixels around the selection. It's really annoying and I have no idea why it's doing that.
B
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 322

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:56 am

Just curious; why are you pasting images into the editor instead of just importing them through the file menu?

Is if because you're combining images to create new images or something?
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:45 pm

Oh no, I was just pasting them through a full sheet. But if you can by pass the editor altogether, that'd be great. I'll look up how to do that.

Don't you need the editor to set points and stuff though?
B
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 322

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:09 pm

The best and most reliable way of working with CC's picture editor is to paint your sprite images including transparencies with your preferred external graphics application, save the results to disk as .png (incl. transparencies) and then import them in CC's picture editor (Second icon in the top row).
I assume this is also what @MrMiller meant.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:33 pm

[QUOTE=spindash712]Don't you need the editor to set points and stuff though?[/QUOTE]
Yep, image points, hotspots, etc.

[QUOTE=tulamide] The best and most reliable way of working with CC's picture editor is to paint your sprite images including transparencies with your preferred external graphics application, save the results to disk as .png (incl. transparencies) and then import them in CC's picture editor (Second icon in the top row).
I assume this is also what @MrMiller meant.[/QUOTE]
Yes sir
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests