True Pixel-Friendly Screen Scaling

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:46 pm

Ever wanted to simply scale up the screen for your retro/low resolution game, without murdering your precious pixel art? Here's how.

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1010927/TruePixelScaling.cap
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Wed Oct 28, 2009 4:46 am

Nice, it look great.
and it is so damn simple.
You gained 20 EXP for that.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:30 pm

Oh the window object... another thing I never used, although it's so useful.

Unfortunately I get blurred little kitties here when resizing, while simple zoom 200,200 is still sharp. I take it that doesn't happen for you guys?
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:40 pm

[quote="PixelRebirth":2c9z0ndn]I take it that doesn't happen for you guys?[/quote:2c9z0ndn]

Nope. That's strange, but I think it also happens on my laptop. I guess it has to do with different graphics cards. care to post a screenshot?
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:17 pm

Goes blurry for me too.



heh, i mispelled it as "burry" :P
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:43 pm

[quote="Davioware":3seuivsj]I guess it has to do with different graphics cards.[/quote:3seuivsj]

Yes, it's a graphics card/driver issue. On my older computer with geforce 6600gt it does the bad bad blur thing, but on my newer one with ati 3870 it looks perfectly crisp!
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:58 am

Hmm.. same for me

got ATI Radeon Express 1150 on my laptop

Nice cap though=) It might help me anyways
Thanx
B
23
S
2
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,822

Post » Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:43 am

I have no way of knowing if this is the problem
just an idea to try
but for those having the problem
see in your graphics card settings if it's overwriting the application settings for anisotropic filtering
Spriter Dev
B
88
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,486

Post » Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:47 am

It might not be a good way if graphics cards commonly override the setting. You're best off using Set Display Resolution, zooming in, and setting Point sampling.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:28 am

[quote="Ashley":1zf3tpls]It might not be a good way if graphics cards commonly override the setting. You're best off using Set Display Resolution, zooming in, and setting Point sampling.[/quote:1zf3tpls]

I have been doing this so far for most of my games. However it causes numerous problems. For example the placement of objects on Scroll Rate 0% layers will get messed up (it didn't do that in very old Construct versions btw). And eventually objects placed at the edge of the screen might be shy one pixel when zoomed, showing through the background. I guess that's why some people were importing their graphics double-sized to avoid the zoom.

So I'd really prefer using the window object like in this example, although the graphics card issue makes this method less recommendable. I'd love to just have a runtime option to make the game double-sized. :P

[quote="lucid":1zf3tpls]I have no way of knowing if this is the problem
just an idea to try
but for those having the problem
see in your graphics card settings if it's overwriting the application settings for anisotropic filtering[/quote:1zf3tpls]

I checked my settings, but anisotropic filtering is set to application controlled. So I guess that isn't the cause.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Next

Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests