True Pixel-Friendly Screen Scaling

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:28 am

[quote="Ashley":1zf3tpls]It might not be a good way if graphics cards commonly override the setting. You're best off using Set Display Resolution, zooming in, and setting Point sampling.[/quote:1zf3tpls]

I have been doing this so far for most of my games. However it causes numerous problems. For example the placement of objects on Scroll Rate 0% layers will get messed up (it didn't do that in very old Construct versions btw). And eventually objects placed at the edge of the screen might be shy one pixel when zoomed, showing through the background. I guess that's why some people were importing their graphics double-sized to avoid the zoom.

So I'd really prefer using the window object like in this example, although the graphics card issue makes this method less recommendable. I'd love to just have a runtime option to make the game double-sized. :P

[quote="lucid":1zf3tpls]I have no way of knowing if this is the problem
just an idea to try
but for those having the problem
see in your graphics card settings if it's overwriting the application settings for anisotropic filtering[/quote:1zf3tpls]

I checked my settings, but anisotropic filtering is set to application controlled. So I guess that isn't the cause.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:58 pm

Wow, this is so great! I was looking for something like this!
The Window object is awesome! Thanks a lot Davio!
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:29 pm

I'd like to point out that 3D acceleration is just not designed for discrete coordinates.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:18 pm

Nice work! If this trick works consistently, I could think of a lot of times I might want to use it.

I just wanted to add that it didn't blur for me, it looked just how it should, with nice crisp clean edges. I have an nVidia card if that's of any help (if the kind of card makes a difference to the blur/no blur thing people are getting).

Also it says it doesn't work well with captions turned on. I of course felt the need to try that, and it still worked fine for me. Maybe something the devs did in an update, fixed it?
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:46 pm

[quote="Lost my Keys":3d3uu5mf]Also it says it doesn't work well with captions turned on. I of course felt the need to try that, and it still worked fine for me. Maybe something the devs did in an update, fixed it?[/quote:3d3uu5mf]

Look closely (or better yet, measure) and you'll see that the screen isn't perfectly scaled up. It may not be apparent with my example, but it's there. It just has to do with the window object set size action taking into account the caption height and width when setting the size. For example, if you set the size of the window to 640x480, it will take the caption into account, resulting in a slightly distorted resolution, at 640-captionwidth x 480-captionheight
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Previous

Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests