• Playable example and capx download in Scirra's arcade

Find the tutorial video

Subscribe to Construct videos now

and

for this game in the Construct2 Academy playlist on Youtube

*DISCLAIMER*

The code and logic of the example can be pretty complicated.

If you are a complete beginner, try your hands at beginner's tutorials first and small examples to get the hang of Construct 2 and its events system.

Feel free to use this topic to discuss the example and implementation.

I won't necessarily have answers for all questions/comments but the community is welcome to participate as well.

• Find the tutorial video

and

for this game in the Construct2 Academy playlist on Youtube

The videos are now uploaded and can be viewed.

• :Thanks! I requested this on Twitter and you guys obviously listen

Will be trying it out over the next week or two.

• Wow, this is very useful, thanks. Also, where can we find the .xml file? it's not attached to the project

• The 'Dialogs.xml' is already part of the .capx as a Project file.

The .capx is available from the playable Arcade link, as mentioned in the first post by Kyatric.

• Thanks Kyatric for this brilliant XML dialogue system method.

You can check my prototyping based on your work by here:

http://spinofgames.com/?url=dialog

USER=SPI PASS=NOF

Best regards! Seb

• Sebastien : Pretty cool

Thanks for sharing.

Although, it is a bit brutal, I wonder if unions do really negotiate like that

• "Any resemblance to real and actual names is purely coincidental..."

I hope to have more time to experiment. Thanks again, happy you like it.

• Hello everyone! Somebody ask me in private about the "once only answer type".

Here is a part of my reply in case this simple method can help someone else.

I have created a "once" attribute in XML with the value 1 on concerned answers.

Eg: <answer id='YOUR_ID' once='1'>Bla, bla, bla...</answer>

NB: in my version, "id" attribute is numeric.