Two Node-webkit problems still on v.168 [Temp Freeze fix!]

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:30 pm

@Ashley, it looks like there are more people having the same freezing problem. Could it be garbage collection or something after the Node-webkit exporter on windows?

@Katala, not only on multiplayer games. Imagine a single player match and you are jumping or trying to do something, but the game froze for 5 seconds. It's really, really bad.
B
13
S
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:48 pm

@arcgen I dont have to imagine :/
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Sat Mar 29, 2014 8:54 pm

:/
B
13
S
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:13 am

arcgen wrote:@Ashley, it looks like there are more people having the same freezing problem. Could it be garbage collection or something after the Node-webkit exporter on windows?

@Katala, not only on multiplayer games. Imagine a single player match and you are jumping or trying to do something, but the game froze for 5 seconds. It's really, really bad.


Sorry for bumping this thread up but has this bug been fixed yet with the freezing problem or is there more information out there how to fix this?

With a project i'm currently working on I have a freezing problem and I can't seem to figure out what the problem is and how to fix it. The game freezes at random intervals for about 2 to 4 seconds. When it happens it seems very random and not when a particular event/action is happening. This makes it even harder to find out why it happens. Sometimes it doesnt happen while playing for 10 minutes long but it can also happen after 80 seconds or after 30.

It also depends on which system I play it on, it seems to happen on the windows platform but not on Macs with the node-webkit exporter. Atleast thats my experience so far. I'm starting to think its a problem with the export and with windows. But I can also be totally of about that. Any information is welcome :)
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:32 am

I don't think it's anything to do with Construct 2. AFAIK games run smoothly on other platforms, so it sounds like a node-webkit issue.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,419
Reputation: 194,542

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:10 pm

I too have had the freezing problem. There doesnt seem to be anything in particular that you could say triggers it. Sometimes it never happens. Very frustrating.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,197

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 3:18 pm

Ashley wrote:I don't think it's anything to do with Construct 2. AFAIK games run smoothly on other platforms, so it sounds like a node-webkit issue.


Thanks for the quick response. I also don't think it's a problem with Construct2 itself. But is there an alternative export for getting an executable since node-webkit is the only way at the moment as far as I can see?

The freezing is not a huge concern/problem at the moment, but releasing a game in this state is not very desirable.

Edit: After searching a bit more I stumbled upon this post about node-webkit and occasional freezes, might be related? Apparently I cant post urls but I found it on Github: Roger-wang / Node-webkit. The issues title is: NW would freeze occasionally #1363

The issue was closed since it didnt seem related to node-webkit but with js engine's (v8) garbage collection.

This is beyond my skillset/knowledge so I don't know if this is related at all but maybe its usefull to someone here.. Is this something that Construct2 uses? This freezing problem is haunting me at the moment.
Last edited by scaffa on Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:02 pm

Yes, c2 uses v8 and garbage collection, there's no way for html5 games to not use it on chrome and node webkit.
Moderator
B
95
S
34
G
33
Posts: 3,006
Reputation: 27,874

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Ah I see, so that means as long as that is not going to be fixed, the node-webkit export is not able to make a proper executable that doesn't freeze up?

That is quite a bummer. Is this stuff known? I mean, it seems like a big problem? Because at the moment im not able to release my game in it's current state. I have no idea if this might be fixed in the following weeks/months, so kinda worried now:)
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sat Apr 26, 2014 6:07 pm

Is it really freezing because of garbage collection? Any particular reason - large images, loads of code, or something else?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests