Two Node-webkit problems still on v.168 [Temp Freeze fix!]

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 2:24 pm

scaffa wrote:@Ashley Did some further testing and hope you can respond to this problem, if there are plans to fix this and what can I do to fix this?

Did some further testing and it didnt matter what I changed it still happened. So I made a new clean project and didnt change any settings.

The project has two sprites and only one event. Once the sprite with a player behaviour makes collision with the floor sprite it jumps and plays a sound. As simple as that.

You can see the result here: youtu.be/i635UHoviMk

At 1:19 it freezes up till 1:46. Then it continues playing again. This is a huge problem with the node-webkit exporter and if there is no alternative way to make an proper executable for windows then heck what can I do now?


I'm thinking, do you have any programs running in the background? If so, could you do a test with all closed?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 2:30 pm

I will do another test with less programs running. But I have been testing this morning with my current pc and also with a surface tablet that doesnt run alot of programs at the moment. Both have this problem.

Friday with another test on someone elses machine that had a clean windows install also showed this exact problem.

If it's happing on each windows (7 and 8) machine that I play the game on then that doesnt bode well.
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 2:35 pm

@scaffa it's great to hear that you can reproduce it in a small project, should be a lot easier for Ashley or even Chrome to have a look at.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 2:38 pm

scaffa wrote:I will do another test with less programs running. But I have been testing this morning with my current pc and also with a surface tablet that doesnt run alot of programs at the moment. Both have this problem.

Friday with another test on someone elses machine that had a clean windows install also showed this exact problem.

If it's happing on each windows (7 and 8) machine that I play the game on then that doesnt bode well.


I remember I had that issue a year ago. I can't recollect if I found out what was cause those freezes back then or not. But on current project nothing happened like that yet ( and I want it to stay that way :D ). If you could share your jumping boxes capx, or better exe with us, we will tru it out too.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:12 pm

megatronx wrote:I remember I had that issue a year ago. I can't recollect if I found out what was cause those freezes back then or not. But on current project nothing happened like that yet ( and I want it to stay that way :D ). If you could share your jumping boxes capx, or better exe with us, we will tru it out too.


I spoke with someone else and he also mentioned he didnt have any problems with the node-webkit export. So maybe something goes wrong during the export? I have no clue.

I uploaded the files to MEGA but I cant post a link here so I will send a pm if that is possible. Attacked the capx for the jumping box project right here. Testing this problem is kinda yeah not fun since it can take a while to happen if you are 'unlucky'.

edit: Seems I cant send pm's at the moment and add links due to low reputation.

freeze.capx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:23 pm

scaffa wrote:
megatronx wrote:I remember I had that issue a year ago. I can't recollect if I found out what was cause those freezes back then or not. But on current project nothing happened like that yet ( and I want it to stay that way :D ). If you could share your jumping boxes capx, or better exe with us, we will tru it out too.


I spoke with someone else and he also mentioned he didnt have any problems with the node-webkit export. So maybe something goes wrong during the export? I have no clue.

I uploaded the files to MEGA but I cant post a link here so I will send a pm if that is possible. Attacked the capx for the jumping box project right here. Testing this problem is kinda yeah not fun since it can take a while to happen if you are 'unlucky'.

edit: Seems I cant send pm's at the moment and add links due to low reputation.

freeze.capx


There's the attachment :) Running it now
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:27 pm

megatronx wrote:
scaffa wrote:
megatronx wrote:I remember I had that issue a year ago. I can't recollect if I found out what was cause those freezes back then or not. But on current project nothing happened like that yet ( and I want it to stay that way :D ). If you could share your jumping boxes capx, or better exe with us, we will tru it out too.


I spoke with someone else and he also mentioned he didnt have any problems with the node-webkit export. So maybe something goes wrong during the export? I have no clue.

I uploaded the files to MEGA but I cant post a link here so I will send a pm if that is possible. Attacked the capx for the jumping box project right here. Testing this problem is kinda yeah not fun since it can take a while to happen if you are 'unlucky'.

edit: Seems I cant send pm's at the moment and add links due to low reputation.

freeze.capx


There's the attachment :) Running it now


[email protected] Clean so far. Hmm, trying to remember what did I do to get rid of those freezes long time ago. Might have been one of the following: gpu drivers, dXdrivers, .net framework, or something was running in the background ( music or graphic software )
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:36 pm

Thanks for helping out, appreciate it. I had that project running for about 25 minutes and then it happened. And after that it happened again after only 5 min. The randomness of it is nuts. For awhile I thought it didnt happen on my main machine but I only played in short bursts so never saw it happen :\

I turned down most of the software running, even went as far as disabling my internet. No positive result and still freezes.
B
24
S
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 1,134

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:52 pm

@scaffa

Do you get the freeze with node- preview or just the exported version ?
B
50
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,237

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:37 pm

Running it for almost 2h now and no problem yet.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: divsyntax, Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests