Two Node-webkit problems still on v.168 [Temp Freeze fix!]

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 7:10 pm

Can't seem to run it, don't really understand how this works :) Made a package.nw and when I try to run it it says

Exported games won't work until you upload them. (When running on the file:///protocol, browsers block many features from working for security reasons.).
B
22
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 984

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 7:23 pm

I still have no idea what this could be. I think VRAM is ruled out by small projects doing it, and V8 garbage collection is ruled out by the fact Chrome has the same javascript engine, but doesn't reproduce the problem. I think export-mode only is probably not actually the case - the export-time optimisations usually help improve performance and there's really absolutely nothing in the export process that could cause long pauses, so I feel it is more likely it is a sporadic issue that has not been observed in preview mode only by chance (perhaps because people spend less time in preview and more time in exported games?). 4 seconds is also an extraordinarily long pause for any local activity: not even garbage collection covering hundreds of megabytes of memory, or very large disk accesses, would take that long. It might even possibly somehow be a blocking network request.

I would guess the most likely cause is the node.js component of node-webkit, since node-webkit is more or less identical to Chrome apart from in that regard, but that is out of our control and something the node-webkit developers should look at. It's also totally impractical to debug a sporadic issue that only reproduces after ~20min - debugging often involves running and testing the issue 10, 20, 30 times or more, and hours of sitting around watching a game does not sound like it would get anywhere. I think the best approach is to report the issue to the node-webkit bug tracker with (as always) as much information as you can possibly provide, and see what their view on it is.

Node-webkit is also now two versions behind Chrome; it may be the latest version of Chrome has performance improvements which node-webkit will also get when it catches up.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
231
G
88
Posts: 24,367
Reputation: 193,684

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 7:32 pm

Ashley wrote:I still have no idea what this could be. I think VRAM is ruled out by small projects doing it, and V8 garbage collection is ruled out by the fact Chrome has the same javascript engine, but doesn't reproduce the problem. I think export-mode only is probably not actually the case - the export-time optimisations usually help improve performance and there's really absolutely nothing in the export process that could cause long pauses, so I feel it is more likely it is a sporadic issue that has not been observed in preview mode only by chance (perhaps because people spend less time in preview and more time in exported games?). 4 seconds is also an extraordinarily long pause for any local activity: not even garbage collection covering hundreds of megabytes of memory, or very large disk accesses, would take that long. It might even possibly somehow be a blocking network request.

I would guess the most likely cause is the node.js component of node-webkit, since node-webkit is more or less identical to Chrome apart from in that regard, but that is out of our control and something the node-webkit developers should look at. It's also totally impractical to debug a sporadic issue that only reproduces after ~20min - debugging often involves running and testing the issue 10, 20, 30 times or more, and hours of sitting around watching a game does not sound like it would get anywhere. I think the best approach is to report the issue to the node-webkit bug tracker with (as always) as much information as you can possibly provide, and see what their view on it is.

Node-webkit is also now two versions behind Chrome; it may be the latest version of Chrome has performance improvements which node-webkit will also get when it catches up.


It's not always after 20 mins, to be fair. Sometimes much quicker. For me it can stop for about 5 seconds too.
But why it never happens on previews? I tend to run preview on second screen sometimes for an hour or so and no hiccups at all!
Last edited by megatronx on Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
29
G
22
Posts: 1,984
Reputation: 19,997

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:06 pm

Maybe I did something wrong. I got the same message as @scaffa ,but it started anyway and it froze as well maybe less than 2 min of running and it was about as long as on scaffas video.

(perhaps because people spend less time in preview and more time in exported games?).

I have spend extensive amount of time testing on Node-Webkit preview and never had this issue. Usually I get first freeze way before 20 min mark on exported game.
B
34
S
9
G
3
Posts: 517
Reputation: 5,226

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:13 pm

I exported the game as I normally would do and downloaded node-webkit-v0.8.0-win-ia32. I used the package.nw from the export and dragged it to the nw.exe to get it running. After 40 minutes I have not experienced any freezing.

Going to keep it running to see where it goes. After 12 hours of testing today I think I need to do something else soon..

I downloaded 0.8.0 since I read a post with someone that had freeze problems with 0.8.1.

I would like to report it to the node-webkit bugtracker but my technical knowledge of this stuff is very limited so I don't think I can provide them with much or usefull information sadly. Hope this will see a fix someday.
B
22
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 984

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:16 pm

scaffa wrote:I exported the game as I normally would do and downloaded node-webkit-v0.8.0-win-ia32. I used the package.nw from the export and dragged it to the nw.exe to get it running. After 40 minutes I have not experienced any freezing.

Going to keep it running to see where it goes. After 12 hours of testing today I think I need to do something else soon..

I downloaded 0.8.0 since I read a post with someone that had freeze problems with 0.8.1.

I would like to report it to the node-webkit bugtracker but my technical knowledge of this stuff is very limited so I don't think I can provide them with much or usefull information sadly. Hope this will see a fix someday.


will try :D

Edit @ THere is 0.9.2 version but i still cant find where i can download the exe from?
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
29
G
22
Posts: 1,984
Reputation: 19,997

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:31 pm

You will need to look for the Prebuilt binaries, it's about half way on the site. There is also a link there to older versions under 'Looking for older versions?'.

I cant post a link sadly :)
B
22
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 984

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:33 pm

scaffa wrote:You will need to look for the Prebuilt binaries, it's about half way on the site. There is also a link there to older versions under 'Looking for older versions?'.

I cant post a link sadly :)


OK. I found 0.8.0. Running it for several minutes already, and straight away the performance is smoother! Previously your blocks would slow down and overall pattern would change, but now they constantly in the same pattern! wtf?

btw, you can post links like that. https:// s3. amazonaws. com/ node-webkit/ v0.8.0/ node-webkit-v0.8.0-win-ia32.zip
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
29
G
22
Posts: 1,984
Reputation: 19,997

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:37 pm

Ah yeah of course I can post a link like that, doh. Thanks :) Yeah the physics and thus the pattern change a bit when there is a slowdown, that is also what I notice a lot during testing.

1 hour of testing and still no freeze. Also testing on my tablet (Surface) now. I hope this is a proper fix :|
B
22
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 984

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:56 pm

scaffa wrote:Ah yeah of course I can post a link like that, doh. Thanks :) Yeah the physics and thus the pattern change a bit when there is a slowdown, that is also what I notice a lot during testing.

1 hour of testing and still no freeze. Also testing on my tablet (Surface) now. I hope this is a proper fix :|


Me too, for almost an hour. No freezing! :)

So, you have solved that case! :) Congrats and thanks!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
29
G
22
Posts: 1,984
Reputation: 19,997

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: digitalsoapbox, Rastacity and 10 guests