Two problems...

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:19 am

Hello forum.

I have been using Construct for a day now and i am pleased with it, but i am having some problems with it.

1. Decreasing RAM.

My RAM looses 1MB every few seconds, even after i free it (using MaxMem). And letting Construct run too long makes my system unstable (Around 40%)...But this happens with Hammer as well (Half Life 2's Map Editor) and i think it has something to do with my system.

2. "The instruction at 0x00000000 referenced memory at 0x######## The memory could not be 'read' "

Ohhh, i hate this one, it makes Construct crash, along with my Source games. This might also be related with the problem above, thus it just being my system...

Any ideas?
B
1
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 639

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:26 am

Not sure anyone will be able to know what the problem is, but it might help if you posted all your system specs.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:23 am

Did this ever happen before Construct? And what version do you have?
I have have Construct .99.83 up for hours and have never seen this a memory leak. I am running Vista and always have up a memory monitor and never see an issue.
B
28
S
8
G
8
Posts: 530
Reputation: 7,154

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:34 pm

My specs:

nVidia GT 9800 1GB
3070MB RAM (2048 Available)
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
Page File: ###MB used, 1634MB available
OS: WinXP Pro

And i have the latest version and havent used any previous versions.

...But its still a cool program :)
B
1
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 639

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:36 pm

[quote="Guyon":2y0s1mck]Did this ever happen before Construct? And what version do you have?
I have have Construct .99.83 up for hours and have never seen this a memory leak. I am running Vista and always have up a memory monitor and never see an issue.[/quote:2y0s1mck]

Yes, this happens in other programs as well...

I have been trying to find a solution but i cant find anyone that has my specific problem :\
B
1
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 639

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:40 pm

If there is a memory leak, there is something that is causing it in your project. If you are using an older version of Construct (below 0.98.3), there is such a leak in Canvas object. It is also possible that it is caused by an overlooked mistake in your event sheet or that there is another bug that is yet to be isolated.

Can you isolate the leak?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:07 pm

[quote="Mipey":10ery1qx]If there is a memory leak, there is something that is causing it in your project. If you are using an older version of Construct (below 0.98.3), there is such a leak in Canvas object. It is also possible that it is caused by an overlooked mistake in your event sheet or that there is another bug that is yet to be isolated.

Can you isolate the leak?[/quote:10ery1qx]

It happens if i leave the program open on a crisp new project with nothing happening.

The program is getting memory, but is not giving any back until you close it.

This also happens with other programs that use memory constantly...

....So now what? :(
B
1
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 639

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:46 pm

Sounds to me like it's not Construct at fault, and that it's something that's running in the background.

What apps do you have running from startup?
It looks like something else running on your system has a memory leak.

If you have ICQ, MSN or any other nonsense running, shut them all down and try construct again.
Shut down everything that can be safely shut down without interfering with Windows, and by a process of elimination you should be able to pinpoint the problem.

It could also be a virus.
How's your system set up for protection against viruses and trojans (Firewall and AV software)?

Krush.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 406
Reputation: 2,062

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:08 pm

[quote="KrushBrother":15pxh8wb]Sounds to me like it's not Construct at fault, and that it's something that's running in the background.

What apps do you have running from startup?
It looks like something else running on your system has a memory leak.

If you have ICQ, MSN or any other nonsense running, shut them all down and try construct again.
Shut down everything that can be safely shut down without interfering with Windows, and by a process of elimination you should be able to pinpoint the problem.

It could also be a virus.
How's your system set up for protection against viruses and trojans (Firewall and AV software)?

Krush.[/quote:15pxh8wb]

I have closed any unnecessary programs, i will see if it worked

I will EDIT my post if it solved my problem.
B
1
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 639

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:47 pm

[quote="Phobos001":3okpcapf]Hello forum.

I have been using Construct for a day now and i am pleased with it, but i am having some problems with it.

1. Decreasing RAM.

My RAM looses 1MB every few seconds, even after i free it (using MaxMem). And letting Construct run too long makes my system unstable (Around 40%)...But this happens with Hammer as well (Half Life 2's Map Editor) and i think it has something to do with my system.

2. "The instruction at 0x00000000 referenced memory at 0x######## The memory could not be 'read' "

Ohhh, i hate this one, it makes Construct crash, along with my Source games. This might also be related with the problem above, thus it just being my system...

Any ideas?[/quote:3okpcapf]

Thinking more about it. Have you considered doing a proper memory test? You can find various utilities to do this via Google. It could well be a bad memory stick. That or your drivers need updating, and DirectX reinstalling.

Edit: Maybe also run a test of your hard drive/s especially the one your swap file is on. Could be a bad block that happens to be where the swap file is located, resulting in it becoming corrupt, and more likely to happen after as you say, construct has been running a while, giving it time to have been swapped back and forth as you did other things. Though I think the memory issue is more likely, that or drivers.

It could also be a problem with the PSU not being powerful enough for the system, but that's not as likely in this case.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests