Uh... my layout editor disappeared?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:49 pm

I have no idea what happened here, but the layout editor is simply gone. I switched to a new tab for a few minutes and clicked Run All when I came back to test something, and Construct crashed -- after another try I realized it was because the layout isn't there anymore. There's only the event sheet editor, and seemingly no way to get back.

I've looked through every option I can find and I can't seem to bring it up... This is probably something really simple, so forgive me for being so noobish. On the off-chance it isn't, though... Am I screwed? :(
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:01 am

Check the minimize/maximize up near the right.
(not the main window)
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:00 am

Nope, nothing... If it's hiding, it's hiding extremely well. :?
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:47 am

Well, I deleted the PERSIST file and it came back with everything intact -- but now, I can't run it at all. No matter what I do, it simply won't run. :(
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:13 am

[quote="SullyTheStrange":2d3vadt8]I have no idea what happened here, but the layout editor is simply gone. I switched to a new tab for a few minutes and clicked Run All when I came back to test something, and Construct crashed -- after another try I realized it was because the layout isn't there anymore. There's only the event sheet editor, and seemingly no way to get back.

I've looked through every option I can find and I can't seem to bring it up... This is probably something really simple, so forgive me for being so noobish. On the off-chance it isn't, though... Am I screwed? :([/quote:2d3vadt8]
I experience from time to time that the tabs below (to switch between the layout and the event sheet) are simply not drawn when opening a project. Opening another layout or creating a new one and then going back to the one I want to work on, solves this. But this is only a visual issue, the layout is still shown in the Layout folder of the project tab, so this might not be what you experienced.

The persist file has no effect on the integrity of the project. It's just an xml-file containing informations for the editor's layout with the cap it belongs to. If it's missing the default editor's layout is used.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests