Unable to launch Node-Webkit for preview

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:52 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
Unfortunately I can't provide a capx as it happens only occasionally and it's not capx specific.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Set 'preview browser' to 'Node-Webkit'

Observed result:


Expected result:
Node-webkit preview should run.

I've looked in the background processes for nw processes but I don't see anything. The only way to get around this problem is to reinstall C2 after a restart. Restarting the computer without reinstalling C2 doesn't work.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: N/A
Firefox: N/A
Internet Explorer: N/A

Operating system & service pack:
Win7 64bit

Construct 2 version:
r139
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:41 pm

Starts showing for me as well just now. There were no problems since r139 showed up until 5 minutes ago. Now it's everytime when I press preview.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,597
Reputation: 34,821

Post » Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:45 pm

I tried to run a game about 20 times in a row through node-webkit in preview and it launches fine for me.

I'm using C2 in Admin mode tho, maybe that helps somehow?
B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:02 am

Like I said I had no problems for last 10 days. It started suddenly few hours ago (before that I was using nodewebkit preview all the time). Since then it's permanent for every opened/created project.

At first when it happened I was exporting my project to exe and my antivirus soft gave me a popup notification about "potentially dangerous file" and delete exe from exported folder. It was kind of strange but i've added C2 folder and folder for export to exclusions and then exported my project without any problems. And since then node webkit don't work for me at all. Got same window like @sqiddster on preview, and no exe file after export - even while antivirus soft is completely turned off.

@sqiddster does it work fine for you after exporting?
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,597
Reputation: 34,821

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:44 am

Are you two sure your Antivirus programs don't just delete some C2 files or block the preview app upon launching Node-Webkit?

Try to disable them and run C2 as Admin?

I'm still pumping the Preview button and still runs perfectly every single time.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:21 am

@shinkan nope. After exporting, the entire project.exe is gone.

@Xionor I very much doubt that disabling antivirus will fix it. Running as administrator didn't fix it.

Due to the fact that export also doesn't work, and reinstalling fixes it, my theory is that some important node-webkit files have gone missing or been deleted.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:25 am

Exactly sqiddster. Which is why I asked about the antivirus.
The Antivirus is only thing that should have the power to delete or remove files on the go.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:34 am

@Xionor OK, I'll try it. However I've always had this same antivirus and it would be worrying if it just deleted a critical C2 file.

(Plus, it's a much bigger possibility that it's just a bug in C2)
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:53 am

antivirus flagged and deleted only the exported *.exe file. So there must be something with C2 or nodewebkit itself.

@sqiddster, right. So we must be doing something to trigger this, bug?
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,597
Reputation: 34,821

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:56 am

I hope Ashley can give a better answer.
It's just that we're on our own until he comes back after the weekend!

Sorry if my suggestions seem silly, but seeing as this error doesn't trigger on my machine it must be PC-specific, right?
Tho of course, it might as well be a bug. Only Ashley knows how the Node-Webkit preview launcher works.

If I were you I'd try to pinpoint the issue - Make the Construct folder read only, see if any files are disappearing after the error appears by checking the number of files in the folder, etc.Xionor2013-07-28 01:59:14
B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests