User Set Text

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2011 3:21 pm

So I am trying to make it so that users can set text (I want people to be able to name worlds).

Link to my file

On the NewGame layout and event sheet. I want users to be able to change "Text2" (Insert World Name) to whatever they want. I set a global variable for the text but I am not sure how to make it be user defined. Any suggestions?

I've been playing with it for a couple hours, I just am clueless about this.

Edit: Fixed linkCrazedgoalie562011-09-18 15:28:54
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2011 3:26 pm

The link you've provided can only be accessed by you. You need to select the 'public' link.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,840
Reputation: 48,281

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2011 3:29 pm

Thanks. I fixed it, should work now.
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:57 am

So I took another look again, I don't think there is any form of text editing in C2 (as far as I can tell), anyone happen to know or have stumbled upon soemthing?
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:41 am

I don't yet use C2 much, but it looks like you're correct.

CC has the 'Editbox' for such a task as you require, which doesn't appear to have been implemented as yet :(

Early days, so I expect this will change soon enough.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,840
Reputation: 48,281

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:02 am

Alright that is what I had figured. Thanks for looking though.
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:09 pm

Hi Guys,

I have been building education games where a user will need to input words. As a workaround you can build a clickable keyboard and set whatever letter the user clicks on to a text object. I'm not sure if this is what you want but it should work well. The other advantage of using this approach is that it will work well for mobile devices too.

Cheers

Simon
B
26
S
5
G
5
Posts: 151
Reputation: 6,279

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:26 pm

You totally just gave me an idea.

I assume that by built, you mean you used sprites or something for each letter? And then just had an event that input the correct letter? How exactly did you get the input to show up and be recognized by your program? The only concern I have is that I would need the name to be a single value so that it could be shown in text with a global variable.
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:50 am

Here is how I did it.

Here

There are no comments at the moment so let me know if you have any problems.

EDIT: This should work...simwhi2011-09-20 07:04:44
B
26
S
5
G
5
Posts: 151
Reputation: 6,279

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:19 am

Your link keeps giving me a 404. Is that the public link?
B
4
G
2
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,088

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests