Using C2 as a Website Designer

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:26 pm

I'm wondering if anyone has had any success using C2 for building a simple website? I've done a mockup of one that I really like, but the problem is I can't seem to get it to work in the middle of the screen and make the scrollbar on the right side work right.

Any insight?
B
40
S
12
G
1
Posts: 532
Reputation: 4,147

Post » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:00 pm

@ome6a1717

I have heard of people using C2 for making a web site (and have seen a couple examples), but it is really not suited for that job. There is no way for search engines to index the content - so people will never find you by searching. It is much more complicated to make it responsive (adapt to screen size and orientation). If you want a scroll bar, you have to make your own, loads slower (because of the engine overhead), and other issues.

I use C2 to make apps that are launched from a web site (and interact with a database) - but they are for private use, not available to the general public, so SEO is not a concern.
It is possible to make use of the whole screen (and center things), have a (custom) scroll bar, and make a nice looking interface... just not ideal for a typical web site.
B
95
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,640

Post » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:20 pm

for "middle of the screen", click on your layout and on the properties bar put "yes" on the "unbound scrolling"
Image

Image
B
38
S
14
G
7
Posts: 408
Reputation: 8,338

Post » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:28 pm

I used C2 one time to make animated elements in a web page for a customer. Things like banners and buttons, so i could use the C2 for interesting stuff inside a stantard web page, that way i knew search bots would find the page and at the same time has some cool elements in the site.
B
36
S
5
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 2,448

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:50 am

@IJCT - I will try that; thank you!

@AllanR - Could you technically not just put text of what you want searchable as some sort of "invisible" text? (or better yet, maybe a texbox object that is selectable behind the unselectable text?) Or does it not even matter what object-type it is? What I'm doing is incredibly simple and shouldn't have too much overhead.

@drzanuff - That's an interesting idea - what did you save the buttons and banners as, exactly?
B
40
S
12
G
1
Posts: 532
Reputation: 4,147

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:19 am

It's not like you can't edit the index.html for some seo.
https://static.googleusercontent.com/me ... -guide.pdf
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
169
Posts: 8,290
Reputation: 108,224

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:02 pm

Let's say i would have a banner with the size of 600x150. I would create a c2 project with the layout and window of the same size. Export the project as a HTML5 project. Then in the main index.html i would call this c2 frame, the same way if you embed a game in a page. And with the browser plugin you could make buttons navigate trought the page.
B
36
S
5
G
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 2,448


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests