using Construct 2 as a Reference code to Game Maker?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu May 26, 2016 6:00 pm

You can use any program/coding language as a reference for anything else. It'll never be one to one because of syntax differences but the logic/algorithm is the same.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Thu May 26, 2016 6:21 pm

R0J0hound wrote:You can use any program/coding language as a reference for anything else. It'll never be one to one because of syntax differences but the logic/algorithm is the same.


We use event we don't actually code until we get into making larger games. It doesn't make sense to go back and forth between tools, the developer should just pick one.
Check out my awesome Android Game releases https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... ames&hl=en
B
38
S
18
G
24
Posts: 681
Reputation: 16,613

Post » Thu May 26, 2016 7:00 pm

Call events what you will, but they are the way to code the logic in C2. Regardless you can still use a c2 project as a reference to create the same thing in another tool.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Fri May 27, 2016 12:05 am

i should stick to Construct 2 for now
100% shrekt
B
16
S
6
G
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 1,711

Post » Fri May 27, 2016 8:40 am

I agree with @R0J0hound and @PixelPower . While you can carry your logic between languages and engines, you should not develop your game twice. If you want to use 2 engines, I'd say creating a prototype in one and the full game in the other is the preferable approach. But IMHO it's better to learn one engine to the professional level if it fits your needs.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Fri May 27, 2016 12:38 pm

To use an 'image'.
Construct's flow looks like a long train with lots of coupled train compartiments lined up.
Game maker's flow looks like a long road with lots of individual cars lined up.

For either, the other looks silly.
Yet, both reach destination, but the time to arrive depends on the traffic load.

Can you compare them ? Depends on how silly you find the other and on the game type.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Fri May 27, 2016 6:38 pm

I think that if you want to prototype something first in C2, you should aim to use an engine like Unity to make the official project.
Prototype something in C2 to make it in Game Maker seems like a waste of time... both engines are made to 'simplify' the game making task.
If you like GM, just grab it and go for it.
B
20
S
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 2,270

Post » Sat May 28, 2016 2:23 am

i can write 1000 line of code in C2 in one day but i cant write one line in Unity... i was trying to reference C2 code BUT no luck because basically C2 do all the work back door (C2 hide the raw code)
Image
B
36
S
11
G
2
Posts: 312
Reputation: 3,739

Post » Mon May 30, 2016 2:15 pm

wizdigitech wrote:i can write 1000 line of code in C2 in one day but i cant write one line in Unity... i was trying to reference C2 code BUT no luck because basically C2 do all the work back door (C2 hide the raw code)


isn't Unity JS and C#?
100% shrekt
B
16
S
6
G
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 1,711

Post » Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:22 pm

Why woild you do that? Both engines are designed to be easy to use, just stick to Game Maker if you want to use it. Also, trying to convert C2 into GM code would be highly unpractical, as both engines differ in their design and inner workings (For example, no behaviors in GM and no layouts but rather a room system)
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,461

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gamecorpstudio, Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests