using the current FPS in an equation.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:15 am

I need to look into this but I can't find any info on it. Don't tell me they forgot to add that in.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:26 am

Timedelta perhaps?
[url:3k1i7znd]http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/construct/index.php?title=TimeDelta[/url:3k1i7znd]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:38 am

that'd be great except time delta is broken and isn't returning the proper values at all framerates for whatever reason. Why should I even have to screw around with that in the first place when I could type a lot less by getting the actual framerate like what should have existed in construct from the very beginning?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:15 am

Heh... timedelta is the time between two frames. It can't get more accurate than that.

Well, you can count frames for a second, then show it. Of course it will fluctuate every second, but that is FPS. For the duration of one second, count frames, then show the number and reset the count. Can't get any simpler than that.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:43 am

You're avoiding the fact that nobody should have to dick around with anything to get something that should be readily available.

You still haven't addressed the issue I'm having, which is that time delta is being retarded and returns weird shit. Like how the nunber that time delta returns at 60 and 120 fps is pretty much the same.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:47 am

timedelta*100... boom. It doesn't get much simpler.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:50 am

read my edit.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:58 am

Are you running v-synced or fixed?
If its fixed then you might have a problem. :P
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:02 am

[code:1svng3t7]+Always
>Add 1 to global('FPS')

+Every 1000 ms
>Set Text to global('FPS')
>Set global('FPS') to 0[/code:1svng3t7]

Yeah, it is too complicated, we REALLY need a FPS counter object :)
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:07 am

And I should have to do THAT when it could be one click, for a feature that should have existed from the very start?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests