using the current FPS in an equation.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:38 am

I'm impressed by the forum regulars, you guys are extremely friendly and helpful even when replying to less respectable members.
B
9
S
2
G
4
Posts: 346
Reputation: 2,726

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:48 am

the helpful part is debatable. helpful implies they did one of two things

1. left it at "no, there's no 'get FPS'. construct is retarded"

2. Told me how exactly getting fps from time delta is supposed to work.

I'm currently on a wild goose chase.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:52 am

I'm afraid you won't be getting better answers with an attitude like that. You didn't explain WHAT DO YOU NEED THE FPS FOR, either.

A little more explaining, less passive aggression would have helped.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:38 am

hey a$$hole
if you need to show FPS
click "Show FPS in caption" or get FRAPS

if you need it for something other than showing FPS
then you probably don't really need it
and you're just too stupid to figure out how to use timedelta for your purposes

if you need help, stop being so disagreeable, explain yourself more clearly
so someone smarter than you can think for you
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:19 am

Why are you such an angry person? You have a perfectly acceptable solution and you still feel the need to be uncivil.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:22 am

[quote="lucid":9ikvertb]hey a$$hole
if you need to show FPS
click "Show FPS in caption" or get FRAPS

if you need it for something other than showing FPS
then you probably don't really need it
and you're just too stupid to figure out how to use timedelta for your purposes

if you need help, stop being so disagreeable, explain yourself more clearly
so someone smarter than you can think for you[/quote:9ikvertb]
at least i'm not a bitch like you.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,108

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:29 am

Bitch or not, lucid at least does his stuff, like developing plugins to provide features not covered by Construct.

You, on the other hand, seem to prefer being spoonfed. Well, here is news: you have got to put in some effort yourself, too. Again I ask: what do you need the FPS expression for?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:57 am

[quote="Cheez":3dwd9yhl][quote="lucid":3dwd9yhl]hey a$$hole
if you need to show FPS
click "Show FPS in caption" or get FRAPS

if you need it for something other than showing FPS
then you probably don't really need it
and you're just too stupid to figure out how to use timedelta for your purposes

if you need help, stop being so disagreeable, explain yourself more clearly
so someone smarter than you can think for you[/quote:3dwd9yhl]
at least i'm not a bitch like you.[/quote:3dwd9yhl]

You really are appearing as one. Take a timeout and post only if you're prepared to interact properly.

lucid: try not to be provoked by rude and uncivil people, moderators and admins can deal with them better.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:39 pm

Hey guys, Cheez just wants to have an expression for the current FPS! Just because every respectable gamedev tool must have one! Otherwise it is, as Cheez has said, retarded! This is reason enough, stop asking what he needs it for! Cheez is an expert in this question, don't you dare doubt him! Rich, you'd better get working on the issue right away! Or else Cheez will demand a refund!
B
4
G
4
Posts: 65
Reputation: 1,305

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:57 pm

The technical response to this thread:

The best way to measure the framerate is Mipey's method, and it is also already described on the wiki because it's very common. There is no system expression to retrieve it, but it is trivial to set up the events.

The correct way to get the instantaneous framerate - which is how many ticks would run in a second if every tick ran as fast as the last single tick did - is 1 / TimeDelta. However, this does vary a lot. The timer is almost perfectly accurate - it is correctly measuring fairly large variations in TimeDelta, which happens for various reasons (eg. the combination of Window's process scheduling and Vsyncing meaning occasionally a Vsync is missed and TimeDelta being around double the normal value). This does tend to make the displayed value unreadable though, because it varies so much. This is why I would prefer the previous method.

Cheez, you are on your way to a temp ban with your attitude, and you've been like this before. I feel your original "Don't tell me they forgot to add that in" and "should have existed from the very start" is belittling as if we are too stupid to think of putting that in, especially since you could have simply phrased it as "how about adding it if it isn't already there?" like most other forum members do. The rest of your posts have a generally bad and unhelpful attitude. Some people have responded badly but I think you are responsible for winding up, so please chill out and don't make me need to log in to the admin control panel in future.

I am satisfied my response completely answers the original question so to cool things off I'm closing the thread.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests