Using Z-order manager?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:34 am

Hi guys,

I have found that when I use the z-order manager I only see a subset of the instances in the layer, which can make it tricky to guarantee that I have positioned my instance correctly. The way I use the tool is by selecting an instance, right click it and select z-order>edit z-order...

Am I using it correctly? or do I have to do something else to see other instances in the z-order manager?

Kind regards,
TheWyrm
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:08 am

You should click on the layer, not object. And select z-order manager. You will see all objects, you can change the z-order by moving the object up/down with your mouse. If you select a object z-order does not show every object in the game.
B
31
S
10
G
3
Posts: 310
Reputation: 6,056

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:47 pm

@stctr Thanks.

To add to what stctr said you need to make sure nothing is selected in your layout as well. There is no right click option for editing z-order on a layer so you have to tick 'z-order bar' in the 'View' tab. Then select the layer.

I have no idea what the z-order editor is showing when an object is selected, and why if selecting the layer is the correct method of operation why there isn't a right click option to invoke the z-order editor on the layer. Feels like a bug with a workaround to me.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:16 pm

When you have an object selected it just shows the object and anything that it's overlapping.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:41 pm

See the manual entry: if you have anything selected, it filters down the list to only those things and the other things overlapping them, so you can conveniently adjust the Z order of those objects without having to scroll past loads of unrelated objects. Unselect everything to see everything.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,441
Reputation: 194,671

Post » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:50 pm

Thanks. Ok, so knowing that I will find it easier to organize my layouts.

Cheers again,
TheWyrm
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:40 am

Why does the Z order manager just flash the selected object? It's like it's teasing us, saying "See, it's right there but you can't have it!". It would be VERY useful for it to actually select the object.

Currently how do you modify properties of an object that's under another? Temporarily re-order the z order, select your object, make the changes, then re-order it again? Bit of a pain.
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:36 pm

@codah , you can Tab+click and sequentially select objects that are on-top of each-other. Then you have access to their properties. I agree 100% with you however, selecting them from the z-order manager would be much more efficient and streamlined!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
69
S
27
G
6
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 10,379

Post » Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:15 pm

@eli0s that's cool I did not know about that!
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Mon Dec 08, 2014 3:49 pm

It must be difficult to do because @Ashley has been asked multiple times to allow selection from the Z-order list but its never happened.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,197

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests