View Grid Crashes C2

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:20 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
Just started this for my moms birthday next week and wanted to use grid, which resulted in crash.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/25ao73ujepp9ngn/BIRTHDAY%20GAME.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. CLICK > VIEW > SNAP TO GRID OR SHOW GRID
2.
3.

Observed result:
C2 Crashes every time.
----
New steam beta updated just came through.
Steam beta upgraded and now instead of crashing
it gives a rendering view error then crashes.

Expected result:
Show grid and allow snap to grid

Browsers affected:
None as it is within C2

Operating system & service pack:
Windows 7 64bit / steam beta

Construct 2 version:
    Latest beta 144.2
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,728

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:17 pm

Can't reproduce. Works for me on Windows 8 64-bit with r144.2. Closing as probable duplicate of http://www.scirra.com/forum/142-crash-drawing-grid_topic74911.htmlAshley2013-09-20 14:18:16
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,632
Reputation: 196,031

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:01 pm

@Ashley

Please reassure me that you test out bug reports on other systems and not just on Windows 8 64-bit?

If it is the case that Windows 8 is the only available system then I suggest you alter the system requirements accordingly.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,548
Reputation: 60,440

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:36 pm

@Kyatric,

I've told Ashley before, I have latest graphic drivers - my machine is game ready machine - I love games.
My drivers - They are updated.

I don't have issues with grid at all. ONLY with sprite font and GRID.
First time using sprite font and this happens.
I updated steam to latest beta release and it seems to have helped a little. I don't get C2 crash. The layout page freezes. I just have to unselect grid and everything is back to normal.

Once again. C2 and steam don't play well.

I have done absolutely everything to ensure that C2 functions correctly - even redid my registry files (which I thought helped a bit, the crashes decreased considerably).

But I'll stand by that C2 is extremely unstable.(On my machine, and I ain't buying a new on - I love it, more than I love C2 and I like C2 alot) but until we can can get to the bottom of it (I am not the only one) then ALL our hands are tied.

All the crashes I have experienced are in one way or another FONT related. It is very hard to pin point and understand Ashley's frustration cause we can't reproduce - but Ashley brushes it off that he can't reproduce it. Ask questions, tell me what to try, lets get to the bottom of this and sort it out.

Look, I'm sorry our machines aren't the same, but I use 100's of software and I don't have half the amount of trouble.

I even used a cracked C2 copy and it gave me ZERO SH1T.
So you tell me.DUTOIT2013-09-20 15:49:57
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,728

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:39 pm

To clarify: Used a crack copy, while I actually have a licensed copy, I just wanted to try steam vs desktop. I have since uninstalled cracked copy as it isn't updateable anyways.

Edit: I don't have that cracked copy to test this issue, but I believe that no matter what version this issue will persist as it appears others have had similar issues to this.

Edit2:
@Kyatric
Where did your post go??? lol. I swear you posted that it worked on your windows 7 and that it was my drivers etc etc etc and now that post is gone.

Sorry for 2 posts in row, the edit says I don't have permission etc etc etc

Lol did it again:

Found it -
4. Set Horizontal alignment and Vertical alignment to Center.

Thank you @ramones for making it reproducible.
Sprite Font and have horizontal and vertical alignment centered creates the issue.
ITS NOT MY DRIVERS! AND ITS NOT MY MACHINE
LOL, okay not really just DUTOIT2013-09-20 15:57:32
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,728

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:51 pm

Noooo! Centered alignment doesn't fix it anymore.
Now I can't wait for Call of duty Ghost - gonna kill me lots of people lol - frustration is best served with a pizza, a coke, and a shotgun DUTOIT2013-09-20 16:54:01
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,728

Post » Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:54 am

Okay. Restarted the pc and it works perfectly.

@Ashley, what could cause C2 to become unstable if pc is left on for extended periods of time. C2 needs to be shut down often to avoid crashes, but pc restarts to flush out (what?) that could cause stability issues.

Seriously, a fresh restarted/booted pc and ZERO issues with grid. I didn't change a think in project files.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,728


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests