Desktop Auto Update?

Get help using Construct 3!

Post » Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:04 am

Web is easy, it just reloads the new version.

Apps are easy - push an update to the app store.

But what about Windows / Mac / Linux installs? How do I get those to update some how? Will I need to build some sort of external launcher?
B
15
S
5
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,099

Post » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:47 pm

Traditional desktop apps (i.e. not distributed via a store) generally all invent their own auto-update mechanism. So you have to come up with something yourself. One of the nice things about stores or web publishing is they solve this for you.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,628
Reputation: 196,023

Post » Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:03 am

Thanks Ashley, I figured as much. Does Scirra have any sort of "Launcher" to assist with this?
B
15
S
5
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,099

Post » Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:48 am

Web is easy, it just reloads the new version.

Apps are easy - push an update to the app store.


In a perfect world yes. A lot of the time does not work at all.

I guess this depends on browsers and whether you add some code manually to your index.page, but a lot of the time it goes like this:

Upload a new version of construct 2 html5 export to your site and keep hitting refresh until your hand falls off, you will still see only the cached version until you delete your browser cache.
B
24
S
11
G
2
Posts: 64
Reputation: 2,978


Return to How do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest