System expressions

Post » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:07 pm

Hi again !

Another point that seems important to me : I think system expressions, especially math ones, should not be translated. It is pretty destabilizing to have to search a french term, but to see the english one appearing. Plus, some translations like "sol" for "floor" feel really fuzzy.
Besides, we know English is also admitted as the main language in programming so everybody learns and memorizes english name of functions. Even though not everybody has been a programmer, these functions are basically just words that refer to a process. I think it is not so important to have them translated as long as they are well documented in French.
Image
B
10
S
3
G
2
Posts: 81
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:36 am

On the one hand, it makes sense, and on the other, you have to think about Construct as a tool for very beginners (children ?) who do not speak English, don't understand it and will probably understand French better.

That is how Construct is designed in English and most system expressions have an actual meaning in English.
Translating them was a way to bring this meaning to French as well.

Finally, even though translated, when auto-completed the expression will provide the original expression in English within Construct and also the input field, as you are entering the expression will contain the English version only, allowing people to still be exposed to the dev/English term for the long run.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
294
S
117
G
96
Posts: 7,310
Reputation: 71,084

Post » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:12 am

What about "arrondi_sup", "arrondi_inf", "conversion_nombre", "conversion_lettre" etc..
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
139
Posts: 876
Reputation: 72,510

Post » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:17 am

Could work. Although, it makes for far longer expressions (which has already been an issue in a lot of the translation ex: "User" = "Utilisateur").
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
294
S
117
G
96
Posts: 7,310
Reputation: 71,084

Post » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:11 am

I am using C3 in french to see what I have to do when translating to portuguese.

I got a problem with french C3, tried to use the expression "random" and it gives me the expression "racine". in portuguese, for coincidence, I will get the same as "racine" writes "raiz quadrada" and "random" is "aletatório". so for really new users of C3, translations will be really nice, but for users of C2 that starts using translated C3 will be a mess. I sent a message to Ashley to look at it.

A better option is to show both options, when I type "random" when using french/portuguese C3 it will give me the options to "random" and "racine".
B
73
S
34
G
69
Posts: 230
Reputation: 40,436

Post » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:26 am

@nemezes: Why don't you use English and the actual POEditor ?
That sounds like a very strange way of doing things, especially since you translate out of an adaptation/translation, with the risks of translating "translated mistakes".

In French "Random" is "Aléatoire".
But as mentioned, in Construct 3, when inputing the field of an expression, the original expression in English will show up, not the translation. The translation will only be visible once the action has been validated and is appearing in the event sheet.

So again, I don't think it is wise of you to translate Construct out of the French translation. The original language is English and is the root in POEditor and POEditor allows to easily see what strings translations are missing.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
294
S
117
G
96
Posts: 7,310
Reputation: 71,084

Post » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:02 pm

@Kyatric maybe I didnt explain well.

what I did was that: I created a new project and using the C3 in french I created a new event using the option (in french translation) "Systeme" -> "Comparer deux valeurs" -> "Premiere valeur" I tried to use the 'randon' expression and it auto complete to me 'racine sqrt'. It is that what I mentioned.

If I use the french translation of C3 and I am used to use the expressions in english (as an old user of C2), it will be confusing because of that auto complete.
B
73
S
34
G
69
Posts: 230
Reputation: 40,436

Post » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:20 pm

@nemezes : This suggestion has already been discussed I seem to recall.
Can't remember where exactly. But if you are so used to English, keep with the English rather than translations.

Translations will mostly be used by beginners and people who can't speak another language.
Translations are confusing AF, but I'm not sure there is another way around them.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
294
S
117
G
96
Posts: 7,310
Reputation: 71,084

Post » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:53 pm

I see one big problem with translating system expressions. If you're asking for help on the forum (which is english only) providing screenshots, or expression snippets, nobody could help out unless they knew the language.

And besides that Translating basic expressions are not going to help non-english speakers in their future endeavors of developing games as I don't know of any language that translates their syntax commands to local language. So not really a good idea...

Keeping it english would probably be a good things even for the young ones as they learn a few english words along the way.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
18
Posts: 1,027
Reputation: 13,351

Post » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:32 pm

tunepunk wrote:I see one big problem with translating system expressions. If you're asking for help on the forum (which is english only) providing screenshots, or expression snippets, nobody could help out unless they knew the language.

And besides that Translating basic expressions are not going to help non-english speakers in their future endeavors of developing games as I don't know of any language that translates their syntax commands to local language. So not really a good idea...

Keeping it english would probably be a good things even for the young ones as they learn a few english words along the way.


+1

However @Ashley told me, that the user can switch between english and translated versions of expressions.
I personally would remove all expressions from the translation at all.
But as long as they are in, I'll translate them.

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879


Return to Français (fr-FR)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests