Multiplayer Function

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Sun May 13, 2018 9:00 pm

Problem Description
It seems that using Multiplayer peer states for number comparisons seems to cause an error.
I also tried turning them into local variables first, which resulted in the same problem.
This happened to me in preview mode. (Using LAN preview)

Description of Capx
It's an altered version of the Multiplayer game example.
I only changed the game name global variable and added groups of events under "Host" and "Peer", which are called "Bug Testing Host" and "Bug Testing Peer"

Capx Link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OmjWX ... PKq_PDmY0G

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Have a peer send an input state
  • Use the input state in a comparison (such as "Compare two values")

Observed Result
After the error appears the event that seemingly caused it couldn't fire, causing the the player not to move to the X100 coordinate.

Expected Result
The peer should move to the X coordinate it sends while holding RMB, which is 100.

Affected Browsers
  • FireFox: (YES) (V. 60.0 64Bit)
  • Others not tested

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit Service Pack 1

Construct 2 Version ID
Beta r258 64bit on Windows
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 18
Reputation: 4,985

Post » Mon May 14, 2018 10:10 am

RacerXXL wrote:After the error appears

What error is that? What exactly are you seeing? Please be as specific as possible, otherwise it's difficult to investigate reports.
Scirra Founder
B
415
S
248
G
92
Posts: 25,295
Reputation: 200,994

Post » Mon May 14, 2018 11:39 am

Oh yes, I forgot to copy the error message in here. Sorry about that, I wrote that post right before going to bed after trying to find what causes it.

Here it is:

Assertion failure: Calling expvalue.set_float without number type

Stack trace:
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/preview_prelude.js:16:10
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/expressions.js:898:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/Multiplayer_plugin.js:1678:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/expressions.js:347:22
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:2059:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:1262:22
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:868:18
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:996:5
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:935:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:888:4
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:996:5
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:935:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:888:4
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:996:5
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:935:3
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:888:4
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/eveng.js:224:4
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/preview.js:2663:4
[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/preview.js:2350:3
Runtime.prototype.initRendererAndLoader/[email protected]://192.168.178.49:50000/preview.js:658:42


Subsequent failures will now be logged to the console.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 18
Reputation: 4,985

Post » Mon May 14, 2018 6:07 pm

The issue has been solved.

I forgot to add the corresponding client input value tags. My bad.

Sorry for the false report.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 18
Reputation: 4,985

Post » Mon May 14, 2018 6:08 pm

It's still a bug. It should at least return an empty value rather than show that error.
Scirra Founder
B
415
S
248
G
92
Posts: 25,295
Reputation: 200,994


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests