Support multiple screen size - Issue

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:37 pm

Hi,


I followed http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/73/supporting-multiple-screen-sizes/page-2 and

I tried this in r80.2, but it leaves white space on top, left and right of my background.

My layout and window size both are 1366x768 and so is the background image.

Any one know the reason?
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 4,963

Post » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:57 pm

I've tried to get my game to fit multiple screensizes and every time I've mentioned it on here there's never been a definite solution that works. I've tried different resolutions, fullscreen scale, fullscreen crop, exporting with appmobi, exporting with phonegap, the new appmobi plugin to set fullscreen. EVERYTHING.

I can only assume its a bug that needs fixing.

Here's the link to my topic with screenshots too.
http://www.scirra.com/forum/mobile-issues-scaling-and-sound_topic49609.htmlFredQ2012-03-03 21:02:24
ImageImage
Mr. Green - Platform/puzzle game out now!
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 208
Reputation: 3,172

Post » Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:55 am

Hi,


Attaching my project and screenshots. Hoping someone knows how to fix :)



Screenshot link

Project download zipkrish2012-03-04 05:56:05
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 4,963

Post » Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:19 am

I just tried with "margins" set to 0,0 on the layout - banner in the above pasted project.

Doesn't work yet! :(
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 4,963

Post » Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:24 pm

Can you provide the .capx? Your project zip is just a zip of the exported project, which can't be opened in Construct 2.

Margins only affect the view in the editor, so will have no effect on the actual game.
Scirra Founder
B
251
S
156
G
55
Posts: 20,265
Reputation: 141,415

Post » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:10 am

@Ashley

Oh! sorry .. my bad. :)

Here it is - the capx - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/48735785/Construct2_Issues/game-testing-capx.capx
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 4,963

Post » Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:01 pm

@krish, it's because the image is on a layer with parallax 30, 30 so it gets offset. If you set the parallax to 100,100 it works fine. It also helps to set the layout's 'unbounded scrolling' property to 'yes'. Does that fix it?
Scirra Founder
B
251
S
156
G
55
Posts: 20,265
Reputation: 141,415

Post » Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:41 am

cannot download the file...
erroe 404
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 1
Reputation: 506

Post » Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:53 am

[QUOTE=yayapipifly] cannot download the file...
erroe 404[/QUOTE]

Probably because it is his project file and doesn't want you downloading it. Besides this is an old topic, very old.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
37
S
9
G
6
Posts: 1,184
Reputation: 8,727

Post » Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:15 pm

[QUOTE=DUTOIT]
Probably because it is his project file and doesn't want you downloading it. Besides this is an old topic, very old.[/QUOTE]


Heheh not really. Just an old topic.. those files were test stuff on dropbox... probably deleted.

The problem does persist sometimes still with Ludei.
The way we're trying to deal with it is to draw larger backgrounds than the layout size.
Krish
Hey! Did you know that you can hire me to make your games?

Click Here to See More
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 4,963

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fingaz1 and 0 guests