Vista Crash

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:58 am

Construct crashes when it starts up on my machine... Vista?
B
2
G
5
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:11 pm

Tried Construct on Vista last night and it was working. Did you uninstall any of the old public betas first? Failing that, delete the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct (run regedit).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:31 pm

Tried both fixes but it still crashes :(
B
2
G
5
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:57 pm

Any luck with 0.83.2?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:20 pm

Nope no luck :(

One of the previous versions worked, but ive since done an OS reinstall..
B
2
G
5
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:40 am

Makes you wonder what it could be if it was working fine on a previous install.

My only guess is maybe check to make sure your video card drivers are up to date.

Actually... if it at all possible, install one of the old beta versions of Construct that you know worked on your last install, and check if it indeed does work. If it does, then the problem is in Construct. If it doesn't, well, I'll leave what that means up to your interpretation :lol:.


EDIT: Unless of course you mean you did an OS reinstall between your original post and your latest one. If so, ignore me :).
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,866

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:41 pm

Well I think the last version I had working was 0.6 I think... would a link be around for that at all?

Drivers are up to date. And your correct, The reinstall was before my original post. But I dont think I made it very clear, I reinstalled but upgraded it to vista at the same time (MS update CD's need an older version of windows in the first place). When it was working, I was running it on XP, exact same hardware. Which leaves only vista to blame. I have gone through the compatibility options as well with no luck.
B
2
G
5
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:27 pm

Hmm, the thing is I have Vista on my machine too and it works fine. I'm guessing there's something left over from an old public beta which it doesn't like.

To be completely sure it's not an old install, you could try:
- Uninstall any versions of Construct you already have (including 0.83.2)
- Make sure the key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct is deleted
- In your Application Data directory (eg. C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\, hidden by default) delete both the 'Construct' and 'Scirra' folders.
- Reinstall 0.83.2.

If that still doesn't work, I will poke around with Construct on Vista and try to break it :)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:37 pm

Deleting the folder in appdata worked! But I also deleted a folder called scirra in program files which wasnt removed by an uninstaller... this could also have been the problem. Not sure. But its running now!

Thanks!
B
2
G
5
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:42 am

Hi I have a problem on vista with aero enabled. Construct Classic 1.2 crashes after previewing a full screen game. It gave an error message then closes. Any help is appreciated.
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 772

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests