VRAM usage

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:57 pm

Thats what I'm kinda doing saving all in 100X100 and resizing em then. But well im not veteran enough to do so cool explosives and effects without little help like this^^ But I'm sure I can cut it into under 2mb with removing frames.

EDIT
Now its exactly 5MB for 2 explosions sprites

Oh and my shockwave effect done with particles takes 3.5MB so they aren't too light either :P
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:06 pm

After looking at your example, Im pretty sure you could replicate that with just particles.
I'll see what I can do later... after the turkey settles.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,351
Reputation: 66,757

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:00 pm

Ok this isn't quite as detailed as your example, but Im quite sure that with a bit of work it could be.
Plus it also shows something a pre rendered sprite can never do. :P
[url:1p2bxfx2]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/666516/flameon.exe[/url:1p2bxfx2]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,351
Reputation: 66,757

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:14 pm

As a suggestion, add smoke (additive rendering, gray/black, negative gravity). See if that makes it any neater :)
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:17 pm

Very nice example Newt.

A cap would be very handy. :)
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 406
Reputation: 2,062

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:42 pm

Sure here ya go. :D
I also included the png I used for the particles.
[url:2i2dxqq9]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/666516/exploparticles.cap[/url:2i2dxqq9]

I made a tut for Gimp a while back that shows you how to make that.
[url:2i2dxqq9]http://guicon.110mb.com/?Tutorials:Explosions[/url:2i2dxqq9]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,351
Reputation: 66,757

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:54 pm

very nice, but it starts out a bit too yellow. It reminds me of an explosion generator my bro (quazi) made a while back.

[quote="newt":1auq8o56]Plus it also shows something a pre rendered sprite can never do. [/quote:1auq8o56]
Actually, I find they're more useful than particles in every way, aside from performance. Care to explain why a pre rendered sprite can't do this?
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:11 pm

[quote:2qx4j18w]Actually, I find they're more useful than particles in every way, aside from performance. Care to explain why a pre rendered sprite can't do this?[/quote:2qx4j18w]

Im talking about the randomness a rendered animated sprite cant do. Not an emitter made of sprites.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,351
Reputation: 66,757

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:47 pm

Newt not bad I admit but after all my prerendered is a hellalot of simpler to do than that and I found way to reduce the VRAM amount in my effects to that level it's almost same with ur only like 0,5mb higher I think
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:59 pm

[quote="Sagal":2xxz12ry]I'm using particleIllusion 3.0 to create magnificient explosions and fire etc etc [/quote:2xxz12ry]

I've used ParticleIllusion 3.0.... and It's sprite-based, so you should be able to achieve the exact same effects you get there in real time (and with the extra of procedural variations).

Maybe we'll need a few new shaders though!
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

PreviousNext

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest