Wait 0

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:04 pm

Fixed ... Sorry everyone ...
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:07 pm

No problem @Whiteclaws, your logic maybe valid when using AS3 and flash, or C# or C++.

I was worried because it had a huge impact on how I teach and use C2.TELLES08082013-04-09 22:08:17
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,209
Reputation: 18,357

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:09 am

Actually I didn't know about this entire theory of Wait0 at the end of the first place. While I can't see much use for it. I might have one.

Spriter
There is an odd quirk in Spriter. let me explain it. Hopefully clearly :P
* there is no way to set animation values in a Spriter object properties.

* a spriter object upon creation will start animating

* animations animate forward unless setspeed ratio is set to -value

* cannot stop animation until it's initialized AFTER OnStartup is finished. It has something to do with the Spriter initialization association. Often this means until After the first tick of the object creation. You cant' stop the animation :(

Now this creates an annoying occurance for me. My main menu for my Ouya game is done in Spriter. What often happens is that since no Spriter.StopAnation cannot occur until tick 1(ie after tick 0) the animation is already started. So when I set Spriter.AnimateToKeyFrame(0). The animation cycles through all the keyframes until it reaches the end and then hits 0. this really is frustrating.

I'm wondering if Wait0 might help with this.
...........
........
.....
...
.
well after two dozen tests and forced reloaded(ie play button). that seems to have done the trick... Thank you Wait0. You rock :) I will see if it holds out after many more dozens of tests :)
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:24 am

lol, this is a plugin missing a feature, why you don't ask the developer to make this action/condition for you?
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,209
Reputation: 18,357

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:09 am

@jayderyu , what about me :D
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:28 am

You rock too White Claws. So far I haven't seen the problem occur at the start. I still get over framing elewhere, but not on the start :)



Actually I've mentioned it to Lucid before and it is being looked into, but it also has something to do with just how C2 handles on Startup.
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:49 pm

@jayderyu - that's a bug in Spriter, and you're just working around it with 'wait 0'. You shouldn't have to do that. If Spriter is not ready internally for some action to work yet, it should just queue up the action and run it when it's ready. For example the Pathfinding behavior does this. Internally it's not ready to accept any 'find path' actions in the first tick. But if you do use something like 'On start of layout - find path', it queues up the action and runs it on the second tick, so everything works like you expect. Spriter should to the same.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:20 pm

@jayderyu The animation that starts for you in spriter is the first animation right? For example if you SCML has multiple, is it starting the first animation (from the animation list in spriter)? If so a fix would be to make the first animation simply the idle animation or a single keyframe animation so it doesn't move. Just a thought in the meantime...
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,418

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Televangelist, Yahoo [Bot], Zebbi and 3 guests