WebGL performance plunge!

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:22 pm

So I just did a malware scan, and after restarting the computer WebGL performance across the board, from node-webkit to chrome to firefox, has decided to take a nose-dive from 50-60 fps to what looks like herky-jerky 15-20 fps. Graphics driver re-install doesn't help and re-installing C2 doesn't help either. All other non-webgl 3D apps run as fast as they ever did. What on earth could be causing this? Is there a way to clean out and re-install all webgl-related drivers and whatnot completely?
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:15 pm

What does chrome://gpu say?
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,521
Reputation: 195,375

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:30 pm

Here it is:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/70562654/gpu.htm

I notice that Chrome refers to the integrated chip which has drivers from waay back. Not much I can do to update that one, it's an "old" laptop with custom Optimus drivers from the manufacturer. But the performance slog seems just as bad for the Geforce GT 540M card.

EDIT: Hm. It doesn't actually work to try to force Chrome to utilize the Geforce card through Nvidia settings. Chrome://gpu shows It just falls back to integrated. Maybe that's what's happening with node-webkit as well?
Last edited by ErekT on Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:57 pm

I think you can force chrome to use your gpu if you enable "ignore-gpu-blacklist' in chrome://flags .
not sure if this would help in your case but may be worth trying.
B
79
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,976
Reputation: 9,947

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:02 pm

The Intel Graphics driver is from 2010, which probably means it's been blacklisted. In dual GPU systems you need to update the driver for both GPUs, so you have two drivers. Try heading to Intel's site and installing the latest Intel graphics driver from there as well as the latest nVidia one.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,521
Reputation: 195,375

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:22 pm

Unfortunately that won't work I think. I've tried to install generic intel integrated drivers separately before and that bombed the whole gpu switch system. Can't just disable it either, grrr.

But if the gpu was blacklisted, wouldn't rendering fall back to Canvas2D then? I have several shader effects going and if they got disabled I'd see it right away.

I'll try to make a system restore point and install the intel drivers separately again. See what happens. Thanks for the suggestions, both :)
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 10:20 pm

ErekT wrote:Unfortunately that won't work I think. I've tried to install generic intel integrated drivers separately before and that bombed the whole gpu switch system. Can't just disable it either, grrr.

But if the gpu was blacklisted, wouldn't rendering fall back to Canvas2D then? I have several shader effects going and if they got disabled I'd see it right away.

I'll try to make a system restore point and install the intel drivers separately again. See what happens. Thanks for the suggestions, both :)


If blacklisted, the rendering would I think fall back to a software rendered webGL in chrome, not 100 percent sure though.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:34 am

Did is find Any? if so You should try reinstalling/ repairing your browsers most malware/ virus's can infect and break alot of browser features

If it didn't what software did you scan with? Some will install browser plugins and they all have bad performance impact.
I would also make sure it's not still scanning or anything because malware scanners also take up alot of cpu and memory use

Just advise from an IT person
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:21 am

Found the problem!

The individual program settings for optimus got borked somehow, so C2 / WebGL exes had started using the integrated card exclusively. It's fixed now and everything is nice and smooth again, phew...

Did is find Any? if so You should try reinstalling/ repairing your browsers most malware/ virus's can infect and break alot of browser features

If it didn't what software did you scan with? Some will install browser plugins and they all have bad performance impact.
I would also make sure it's not still scanning or anything because malware scanners also take up alot of cpu and memory use

Thanks for the tip :) Malware-bytes found one thing, can't remember what it was. I stay far away from Norton, Mccafee and the like, they're worse than the stuff they're supposed to clean! :P
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:26 pm

There still should be newer Intel drivers available unless it's really old hardware... you should just need to go to their driver auto-detect page and it'll give you the right one, I don't think "generic drivers" exist for graphics hardware so probably means you got the wrong driver...

In Chrome and the latest IE11, we use a special flag to avoid software-rendered WebGL mode, so that shouldn't happen any more.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,521
Reputation: 195,375

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests