Website question

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:49 pm

Hey i got a question about the url of my website.


Right now i am using a domain that i had no use for instead of buying a new one.

On blogs i have seen this type of site: yoursitename.domain.com for example..

Is that possible for me to do?

mynewsite.olddomain.com

instead of:

olddomain.com/mynewsite


thx in advance

(I did not know what to search for, that why i am posting here)
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:05 pm

Yes you can. But this new site should be on different server, then you will add its IP to the domain records.
B
19
S
6
G
4
Posts: 171
Reputation: 2,507

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:58 pm

Yes.my dear friend you can
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 293

Post » Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:51 pm

Darn it.. that means i gotta buy another one ? :p


working on this one:

hlelite.com

once i got some more money i put it on the proper place :)
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:26 pm

Just a bit of advice, for SEO it's pretty much always best to keep all your content on one domain. For example, blog.yourdomain.com would be a mistake, it should be yourdomain.com/blog. Google counts blog.yourdomain.com as a completely separate website!
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,882

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:38 pm

Oh ok ty :)

B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403


Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TRIGERTOOM and 2 guests