Weird Black Screen, Preview is ok

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:14 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yymc2r3jkezytwu/StarsV4-3skqbylo6yztf_2.capx
--working one
https://www.dropbox.com/s/afuh0r9e5t2gamr/StarsV4.capx
--black screen

Steps to reproduce:
1. Preview it and it loads just fine
2. Just export to any web server even local


Observed result:
Black screen on loading

Expected result:
Load main Layout

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes
Firefox: yes
Internet Explorer: yes

Operating system & service pack:
Win 7 pro 64-bit sp1

Construct 2 version:
v139 64-bit    

Other Comments:
I'm not sure this is even a bug. It was working fine till some point. I removed all my added events till yesterdays version but still it loads as a black screen. So I guess I should be looking at something else, but i have no idea what.
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:41 pm

Can you link to the online version which does not work? It could be a server problem. Could you also check the browser error console and report any errors that are there?
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,628
Reputation: 196,023

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:53 pm

http://www.kourentzes.com/stars/v3/mainold/
--old version
http://www.kourentzes.com/stars/v3/main/
--black screen version

if it were a server issue wouldn't my local appache show it properly?
thx!

I get this error in the console:
Uncaught TypeError: Property 'w' of object [object Object] is not a function c2runtime.js:199
rb c2runtime.js:199
b.load c2runtime.js:71
b c2runtime.js:58
$a c2runtime.js:112
(anonymous function) www.kourentzes.com/stars/v3/main/:77
l jquery-2.0.0.min.js:4
c.fireWith jquery-2.0.0.min.js:4
x.extend.ready jquery-2.0.0.min.js:4
S jquery-2.0.0.min.js:4

---update
Since working backwards by deleting stuff didn't work, i'll try adding till i get to the error.emperorkk2013-08-20 23:05:19
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Wed Aug 21, 2013 12:34 am

I found what the problem is.

The event

http://prntscr.com/1mg471
starts the issue, but it doesn't go away unless you remove the relevant object as well... that's why i couldn't find it in the first place... i just removed the events from the event sheet.

...and yes as always it was the last thing I added...

If I can provide anything else useful please advise.

---Update---
what seems to break the script is the call DropDownList.SelectedIndex
which i'm pretty sure i've used before but i'll do some more testing and see.emperorkk2013-08-21 01:19:01
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:19 pm

Can you reproduce this in an empty .capx as per the bug report guidelines? That would prove you have found the issue and that it is not something else in your project. It looks like it might be the minifier breaking that expression, so I made a tweak for the next build anyway, which might fix it.Ashley2013-08-21 16:20:12
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,628
Reputation: 196,023

Post » Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:36 pm

will do !
Will get back to you as soon as I have it ready.
thx for your time.
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:55 pm

...and i was so sure i had it... It works just fine on its own.

Link to uploaded project
http://www.kourentzes.com/stars/v3/selectedindex/
link to capx
https://www.dropbox.com/s/obv0vadugqsjvx2/SelectedIndex.capx

both preview and on browser work just fine.
Please close this post. I'll try and find the combination where this happens and get back to you with a proper bug post if this is indeed a bug.
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:59 am

Out of curiosity, does it work if you don't minify on export?

I loaded up an old game to work on tonight, and previews work great, but black screen after export. My suspects were Random Seed plugin, and the old pathfinder plugin, and the list box control. (which I see in your screenshot)

Exporting without minifying fixed my problem, so I gave up looking for now. Pathfinder and random seed worked in a test project alone.

Edit: Just ran a test capx, and listbox worked minimized alone.Paradox2013-08-23 09:07:51
B
241
S
63
G
33
Posts: 903
Reputation: 40,729

Post » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:30 pm

By unchecking the minify option everything works fine for me as well.

I've tried multiple combinations on new capx so far to pinpoint when the minify will break the script but haven't had any luck yet. Must be some combination that i haven't figured out...

Note: All the plugins i'm using work very well on their own minified or not...
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 3,800

Post » Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:37 pm

I'm having this problem too, but disabling Minify isn't solving.
B
15
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,033

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests