Welcome to the Construct 2 public preview

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:08 pm

Latest FF, as in 3.6.13, or the FF 4 beta?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:20 pm

[quote="Mipey":29om5tbf]Latest FF, as in 3.6.13, or the FF 4 beta?[/quote:29om5tbf]

3.6.13
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:20 pm

Firefox 4 has hardware acceleration to IE9's level, so it should run smoothly in that. Firefox 3.x seems to use a software renderer which isn't very optimised.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:09 pm

[quote="Ashley":1fcd0ly6]Firefox 4 has hardware acceleration to IE9's level, so it should run smoothly in that. Firefox 3.x seems to use a software renderer which isn't very optimised.[/quote:1fcd0ly6]

Ok, cool.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:54 pm

I've read good things about FF4
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,897

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:17 am

Hi, great release, i really like what i'm seeing with construct 2!

i have one issue however. For adding private variables, you disallow several characters, including '+'. This is really annoying for me because i use symbols on each variable to symbolise purposes and uses of that variable, one of those being +. This must be fairly simple to change, and i know it's nothing like your biggest concern right now, but if you could change it by the final release, i would be much obliged.

Until then, thanks for the new construct 0.99.97.
-Uzalu
B
3
S
1
G
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 878

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:24 pm

Er... Those symbols are operators, which are used by the runtime. Variable names should never use symbols that already are used by the engine/language. They could break the flow, which is why they are disallowed.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:00 pm

Mipey's right, if you can name a private variable "my+variable", then the expression to access it is:

Sprite.my+variable

which the expression parser will read as "Sprite.my [add] variable" and throw an error either for 'variable' not being a system expression or 'my' not being a Sprite instance variable. I don't think it's a big deal - just use a letter or character instead, say.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:07 pm

What about things like text objects though? I noticed if i put things like / or \ as a string they did not show always, this could be due to it being used for comments in javascript so it might be a possible bug as they should display still.

Sometimes you need them in a text so there should be a way to display those if it's possible. If not though it would be good to have some info for which characters to avoid using in text.
B
2
S
2
G
1
Posts: 121
Reputation: 1,092

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:16 pm

Can you make a .capx with the exact cases that don't work and send it to me? Thanks.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 17 guests