What are some of the Highest Quality CS2 Games?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:27 am

[QUOTE=alspal] Why would you want to break it into tiles? Then you couldn't do as much unique graphics. [/QUOTE]

Indeed. I am curious as well!
MOO
B
14
S
4
G
4
Posts: 53
Reputation: 3,862

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:31 am

[QUOTE=Stomphoof] Fun Question: Could Construct2 do something like this?

http://cryamore.com/btest/Buildtest/Test.html[/QUOTE]

As long as you have a good artist - yes. The test is nothing else, but 8-direction movement with few solids. You could create the same test (as long as you have the art) in 10-15min in C2!VonBednar2013-02-12 02:45:29
B
16
S
3
G
5
Posts: 44
Reputation: 3,231

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:36 am

[QUOTE=VonBednar] [QUOTE=Stomphoof] Fun Question: Could Construct2 do something like this?

http://cryamore.com/btest/Buildtest/Test.html[/QUOTE]

As long as you have a good graphics - yes. The test is nothing else, but 8-direction movement with few solids. You could create the same test (as long as you have the art) in 10-15min in C2![/QUOTE]

I figured as much from looking at it.

I happen to be backing that game on Kickstarter haha.

My wife intends to do art for my game, once I am ready to do it.
MOO
B
14
S
4
G
4
Posts: 53
Reputation: 3,862

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:20 am

[QUOTE=Tokinsom] I'm working on a Metroidvania myself, actually. Definitely possible but you might want to look into AJAX, project files, tmx. importer, and dictionaries. I think there are some "Metroidvania" examples around here but they use individual layouts for each room/area which won't get you very far in the long run.[/QUOTE]

Why is that? Asset overload? Just curious. I'm making not a full-blown Metroidvania, more like a Flashback/Another World thing, but tech-wise they're pretty similar.
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 398
Reputation: 3,384

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:22 am

@UberLou @ErekT

-Really long save/load/preview times since all layouts, backgrounds, tilesets, etc. are internal.
-Won't be able to have team members build levels unless you buy a C2 license for each one and use SVN or something.
-Each layout has its own layers & properties so unless you duplicate levels & erase everything to start fresh or make a template of sorts you might spend a lot of time setting these up.
-Will have to rebuild all your levels if you decide to switch to another game maker.
-You'll probably have to - in every layout - place a trigger at each door telling it which layout to go to next and which door to create your player at. You'll also have to save your player's variables between rooms if you want the transitions to be convincing. It's difficult but that can be completely avoided using your own editor by loading a whole area at once but creating/destroying rooms individually.
-Can't use tiles.

It's just bad news. Back when I used MMF I tried making a 'vania using a frame for each individual room and it was a mess. It's certainly more feasible in CC/C2 but I wouldn't recommend it unless the game was really small.. Like A Mini Falafel Adventure or something.Tokinsom2013-02-12 05:35:16
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:02 am

I think using a level editor saves a lot of trouble when you're making a serious game. I like keeping my game in 1 layout, and have another layout for the menus, with a 3rd layout for sprite storage (so I'm only creating the graphics per level to reduce vram.)
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:19 am

Thanks for that :) Some very good points. I guess it's time to check out Ajax and tme/tmx.
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 398
Reputation: 3,384

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:02 pm

Because if you don't have tiles you'll have giant images used in multiple layouts, all eating VRAM and taking an age to load.

Bastion uses tiles - it's pretty standard for these types of games.
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Post » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:40 pm

@Tokinsom - Every system has it's positives and negatives. I've had almost none of those problems. Sure if i change game creators I'll have to start from scratch, but then that's just bad research. I won't go and dissect every point, but I made my game in a very short amount of time and the world is pretty big with lots of graphics. I think it's more of a workflow preference.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eisenhans and 13 guests