What is Faster? (solved)

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:53 am

Just a Resource comparison question.

I am making a Menu.

What is faster, making each button move to a new Layout. Or changing the Layout on Button Pressed ?

Edit:   I would think Making new Layouts if Faster and Better because then i don't have to import so many Sprites for every ButtonSchoening2012-02-12 18:36:35
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:54 am

H?
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:56 am

[QUOTE=Weishaupt] H? [/QUOTE]


I make a Menu.

If you press a Button, it will move you to another Menu Screen.

Better with Layout per Menu Screen and (move to layout)   or by changing the layout by for example   Make visible / invisible or Move stuff arround
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:06 pm

I think it's easier and even "faster" to just change Layouts - that's what they are for
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:01 pm

Better for you than changing layout would be to make one big layout with seperate windows menu and then just scroll around the layout...but it's still a crazy idea :D

but for menus there are a lot of options. For example make sprite with different frames setups - frame 1 - help, frame 2 - exit...
You could even make objects visible/invisible depends on their actual state. But changing layout it's not a good idea.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:48 pm

Ok :p

Changing Layout = Bad and Good... xD


Schoening2012-02-12 13:48:45
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:58 pm

There's no problem in recreating the GUI objects on each layout.
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,505

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:15 pm

[QUOTE=Kiyoshi] There's no problem in recreating the GUI objects on each layout. [/QUOTE]

Oh yeah i know :p
That's the point, with different layouts i might be able to reuse more Sprites.

But i was not sure if changing the layout or something else is best for the performance.Schoening2012-02-12 14:16:35
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:02 pm

It's up to you, neither is faster/slower, but you might find it more convenient to use different layouts.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:36 pm

Hm.. and why should i belive you?

lol JK

Allright Solved i think :)


I decided to use both btw. Since i have a inventory <- Visible / invisible

And i have Menu <- Layouts
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,403

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kingpirux, Magistross and 2 guests