Page 1 of 1

What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:37 pm
by foolberry
The whole game - or just the current layout?

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:30 pm
by Ashley
Right now the whole game, but we have plans to load by layout.

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:12 pm
by farsmile90
Load by layout maybe improve performance, right @ashley ??
Because when i write code for other layout, but it's still effect in runtime even it's not in current layout. (sry for bad E).

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:27 pm
by Ashley
@farsmile90 - no, it will not improve performance, it will only save memory.

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:06 pm
by farsmile90
Thank ashley :D

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:49 pm
by Arima
@farsmile90 - I might be misunderstanding you, but just in case - code from other layouts, while in memory, does not run unless included, so don't worry about code from other layouts hitting the framerate.

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:50 pm
by DiGiCORE
A lot of memory if your other layouts use a bunch of different sprites, I'd imagine.

Re: What is loaded into memory?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:50 pm
by foolberry
[QUOTE=Arima]so don't worry about code from other layouts hitting the framerate.[/QUOTE]

Not unless they're included. But any data - tiled backgrounds, sprites, sfx I guess, will be held in memory all the time at the moment. This is why you get high memory usage warnings from the browser (or at least I do)