What next for Construct 2?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:03 pm

Also giving Construct 2 the ability to check to see if there is an updated version of itself and, if so, to have it automatically update itself would be nice.

Jason
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 62
Reputation: 4,410

Post » Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:26 pm

[QUOTE=blueFire] Also giving Construct 2 the ability to check to see if there is an updated version of itself and, if so, to have it automatically update itself would be nice.

Jason[/QUOTE]

or possibly the choice to do either or. a check for updates toggle, that can be turned on or off, for those who might prefer or have to update manually.
B
52
S
17
G
15
Posts: 1,029
Reputation: 26,339

Post » Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:32 pm

pop up message saying "Welcome this is Construct 2 work in prorgress release, please be patient" for everyone who still complain about lack of some features.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:29 pm

Multiple collision masks for one sprite.
I know that the polygon collisons are on the way but could it be possible to set few of them on one object?
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:31 pm

@shinkan, that greatly increases the complexity of the engine, when you could simply use a second invisible sprite. Is there something significant multiple collision masks on one object allows you to do over using detector sprites? If detector sprites can do the job, then I think it would be unwise to spend a lot of time, bugs and effort on it (especially when other features are importantly missing).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:58 pm

Yes that's true, but what if you could use only simple rectangular polygons? Wouldn't they act as a simple one colour fill detector sprites?
I'm asking because i have many layouts with single sprite's for a background and I have to set few custom sprite detectors for a specific layout - there's some Z layering and other thing to consider.
If for one layout i have to set let say 5 of them - and I've already have 9 layout, it equals 45 objects for detectors only :/
I though if I could have multiple collision masks and they could be called in events by name I could save time and export file size.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:02 pm

There's nothing wrong with 45 objects for detectors - it's hardly extortionate. I don't think there's even much to be gained in exported filesize either. A detector sprite with a solid fill image is effectively just a collision mask in the engine. Plus, you can actually adjust them in the layout view, whereas multiple collision masks would only be accessible via the image editor, which is extra clicks and makes it harder to have an overview of what you have.

So are you sure multiple collision masks is absolutely necessary? To me it's one of those ideas that sounds cool, but upon inspection doesn't actually add much value, at the cost of much complexity.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:10 pm

Ok, I've alway thought less object = better performance, that's way i asked my question above. If you say adding multiple collisions are more less the same as a using many sprite detectors that's fine.

and yeah hehe that sounds cools;)

Thanks Ashley!
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:21 pm

OK, I suppose we can leave that feature then. Just to be clear, I'm not trying to shoot down ideas just for the sake of it! I just like to be absolutely clear on the idea and its benefits so it can be accurately gauged if it's worth it. So please don't feel bad about throwing in other feature ideas :)Ashley2011-09-11 18:22:04
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:37 pm

Someting that bothered me from CC is that variables in a family is applied to all new objects, which is very deorganiced, and not to old object if a new is createed.
Their shoudl be global family variable or just a checkbox to make it global. Otherwise some objects will carry variables not needed.
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 413
Reputation: 2,512

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: randomly, Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests