What should you do if you can't make animations start timers

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:37 am

One useful way to make timers start when they should is to make them start when animation something is playing. The problem is that if ia make a event like that the timers never start. It used to work but not anymore. What can the problem be? Timers work in other instances but they don't start by animations.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:00 am

So you are starting the timer every tick the animation is playing?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:50 am

LittleStain wrote:So you are starting the timer every tick the animation is playing?




Yes i do and they don't start.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:10 am

I think they do start..
If you made an action for them to start and your conditions are correct, they should..

But like I said, the timer starts "every tick" the animation is playing, so as long as the animation is playing the timer is restarted every tick, which will in effect only really start the timer the last tick the animation is playing..

If you could share your events, this could be easily checked..

The solution might be as simple as adding a trigger once condition to the event starting the timer..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:51 am

Do you mean like starting the timer one one frame of the animation? In that case it does not work. If the timers start why do they don't create the effect they should trigger? They don't do that and that,s the problem. I have debugged the sprites and their animations is playing true so no problem there.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:46 pm

LittleStain wrote:If you could share your events, this could be easily checked..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:11 am

I made a seperate layout and event sheet to solve this.
http://postimg.org/image/56y5jh9f1/

Here is the event sheet. The goal is to make Sprite 950 disappear by animations. The animations should start timers that would make Sprite950 disappear after a while. As it is now Sprite 950 never disappears. The event sheet only contains the events shown here so it can't be other events that make it not work. What is it whit these event i need to change to make it work?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:17 am

Are your animations looping? If so then it keeps resetting the timer. Try just starting the timer when you start the animation instead.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
241
Posts: 3,734
Reputation: 134,494

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:07 pm

No the animations Loop is set to No. The thing is that one other problem i have is that all sprites animations loop even if i set the animations to No. It happens whit every sprite. I didn't used to be like that but now it is. This could be a problem in my other event sheets. Sprite 950 may not have this problem. Starting the timer just when the animation start is what i already do. There´s no option for on start on animation. I have made it so the timer starts on frame 1 of the animations and that is the closest to making the animations start on the start of the animations i know. So another solution is needed.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:02 am

Is there really no one that can give a good answer to this question. If there isn't i will share my construct 2 file but i will only do that if i have to. I mean i showed the event sheet, all the event of the event sheet that was related to that layout. It can't be any problem whit the events. The animations Loop is set to No and the timers should only start on frame 1 of 6 frames. It is very likely that i need to change the existing events. What can the problem be otherwise? If no one still can't give a good answer i will share my construct 2 file but only if i have to.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1,344

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests