What the heck is this error? Seems sound-related...

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:56 pm

[quote="deadeye":z5m73yi6]I don't think it's your sound at all. I think it's that background on your menu screen. I get some craaazy bad slowdown when it's open, and with every arrow-key event (switching to menu options and such) it lags really bad.

The volume slider is the worst. It's not playing every 75ms... more like every half a second. And the entire screen jerks and lags along with it.[/quote:z5m73yi6]

Well, I have it set to 75 milliseconds... And yeah, it does lag, but... I thought it was just a little lag, that's all. Nothing completely crashing.

[quote:z5m73yi6]It looks like you have some pretty heavy shader use going on, and maybe canvases or something. I do recall you mentioning something about erasing the corners of your menu in a previous post... and the sprites look like they at least have Glow on them.[/quote:z5m73yi6]

Well, I DO have a lot of that "erase" stuff going on, not to mention "seperate" on the layer properties themselves, but the sprites don't have Construct glow, they have Photoshop glow. They were made in Photoshop like that and saved as .png files, so there's no more effects going on there. The text however, does have "outline", but I didn't need to tell you that.

[quote:z5m73yi6]Anyway, no it doesn't crash for me, but I really would not be surprised that it crashes for you or other people with lower-end computers than mine. You're choking it to death. You need some serious optimization.[/quote:z5m73yi6]

It DOES crash eventually, you just gotta keep fiddling with the color customization. Just try making everything yellow, or everything white, or something that would require you to move those meters around a lot. Eventually the sound effect will cut out entirely, and then it's not too long until it crashes.

[quote:z5m73yi6]And if you're wondering "well why did it only start crashing when I added the sound?" the I guess that's just a final-straw scenario.[/quote:z5m73yi6]

I didn't think all this would be THAT much for Construct. ;_; I thought it could do a bunch of 2D stuff or something, I dunno. I guess there's nothing that can really be done?
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:08 pm

[quote:3buhm52f]It DOES crash eventually, you just gotta keep fiddling with the color customization. Just try making everything yellow, or everything white, or something that would require you to move those meters around a lot. Eventually the sound effect will cut out entirely, and then it's not too long until it crashes.[/quote:3buhm52f]

Yep. It did exactly as you said. I'm sorry I doubted you :P

And after the sound stopped working, the menu speed jumped up dramatically. The scrolling background and the sliders started moving at a normal rate. Then after about ten seconds or so it crashed. Weird.

What do your sound events look like?

Edit:
Hmm, it seems your "jump" sound is causing framedrop as well. strange.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:47 pm

Well, the sounds have to kinda "load" first, and obviously, I'm doing this all via resources. For the sound effects, I'm using only one option so far, but I'm going to use much more eventually. I just wanted one at first to do some sound testing, but obviously, being only a single sound object, some sounds interupt others, and I don't want that, so I'll be using more sound objects later in the development. As for the events, I'm having the sound object "play music" for the sound effects, if that makes any difference.
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:45 pm

I hate to continue to pester people with this, but does anyone have any idea how I could fix this? Maybe using a different sound format? Like .xm or something? More sound objects to handle sound effects?
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:37 pm

You only need one sound object.

What do your sound events look like?
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2009 11:57 pm

You already asked. o_o Sorry I didn't reply properly. ^^ Here's a list of events, screencapped and saved to an image file. If you take a look through it, it's not really any different from anything I said before, and I'm not nessecarily overworking the sound file object or anything, so I'm not sure what the problem is, really.



My apologies if that's a bit long, but I figured it'd be best to begin with introducing the structure of the events, and how they're started in a group, and go down from there. ^_^;
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:25 am

Hmm, yeah, it could be the Play Music action. You shouldn't have to use Play Music for a single, short sound effect.

Try converting your .wma files to .wav, and add them as resources. Then use the Autoplay Resource action.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2009 8:34 pm

The sound files were originally .wav. I had to convert them to .wma because it won't work any other way. If I try using them as .wav, and use "autoplay resource", the sound won't play. Just silence.
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2009 10:03 pm

What were they created with? What was their bit depth and sampling rate?

I've noticed that wave files made at 8 bit or 22.05kHz with SFXR often times won't play in Construct, even if they play in other audio programs. Converters and sound editors might add funky header information that Construct doesn't like, as well. Or so I've heard. So it might not have been a Construct issue. Well, not totally anyway.

Suffice to say you should be able to autoplay .wavs no problem, especially if they're short.

Anyway, if you still have the originals you might be able to open them in something like Audacity and re-save them. That usually fixes any sounds that are broken for me.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2009 10:37 pm

[quote="Kisai":2rf3t1f2]The sound files were originally .wav. I had to convert them to .wma because it won't work any other way. If I try using them as .wav, and use "autoplay resource", the sound won't play. Just silence.[/quote:2rf3t1f2]
Then you should submit a bug report for that and try and get that fixed, because 'play music' certainly is not intended to play your sound effects, which may well be the source of this problem.

Note that only WAVs with certain codecs work with XAudio2, see the wiki for more info.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

PreviousNext

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests