What would be best?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:44 pm

Hello

I'm not sure if this is the right place for posting this, but it didn't feel right in the "how do I"-section either.

I want to make a "metroidvania" type of game and started out with GameMaker but then decided to switch to Construct 2. I then had difficulties with switching rooms as I wanted (walking freely between layouts) and I read that Construct 2 was basically just for html games and mobile development so I switched again to Construct Classic.

Now I'm on Construct Classic but I'm having doubts about what actually is the better of them (for me).

As I said I want to make a "metroidvania" game.
Is it even possible in Construct 2? With the walk-freely-between-layouts-issue? And I would prefer making the game for exe.

Are there any benefits to choose Construct Classic instead of Construct 2? (based on my criteria)
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 218

Post » Sat Nov 09, 2013 8:06 pm

use construct 2; classic is retired
B
48
S
5
G
6
Posts: 210
Reputation: 6,277

Post » Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:31 pm

There used to be. Not so much anymore. Also if you're going to make a metroidvania you might want to look into building your own world editor - using layouts is not very practical regardless of which program you use, including GM and some others.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:27 pm

I think if you use the right combinations of layout, layout sizes, window sizes, and some good edge detection you could probably get away with it I've been experimenting with it a bit and I've got something like SOTN to work and do what I want while prototyping it.

That said, I'm not sure how memory constraints will hold you back on a map that size. I dont know the specifics of memory handling for that. I don't know if Construct dumps the entire layout into video memory or only what's in the window at the time. @Ashley could better answer memory technicalities better I think. With some creative work though I imagine you could keep memory down enough for it to not be a bother.

You mentioned it being in an EXE style game which means your exporting to Node-Webkit. It's still technically a browser, but by exporting and distributing via node you have the side benefit of ensuring more system resources are available because the entire app is downloaded and run natively from the system and not hosted online. It also ensures a desktop/laptop is running the game and not a tablet or phone that is is less powerful.
Kurieus
Come visit and play Blast Box!
B
15
S
3
Posts: 205
Reputation: 1,349

Post » Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:49 pm

Construct 2 may be HTML5 based, but Game Dev Tycoon is a game on steam that's HTML5 based. It uses Node-webkit to be an EXE.

HTML5 game does not automatically equate webgame.


That said, C2 would work fine for a metroidvania.Thndr2013-11-09 22:50:29
B
21
S
8
G
6
Posts: 346
Reputation: 4,891

Post » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:06 pm

Thank you for the replies! :)

[QUOTE=mepis] I think if you use the right combinations of layout, layout sizes, window sizes, and some good edge detection you could probably get away with it [/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=Thndr] That said, C2 would work fine for a metroidvania.[/QUOTE]


Okay, so you don't think it would be a problem to make a metroidvania type of game in Construct 2?

I still haven't found anything that works like I want it to work when the player walks between layouts though. I want the player to be able to walk freely like in for example Castlevania games. But I would still want my event sheets to be at a minimum. The player should be able to for example jump through the end of a layout and still be in the jumping moment when entering to the next layout.


[QUOTE=MadFactory] There used to be. Not so much anymore. Also if you're going to make a metroidvania you might want to look into building your own world editor - using layouts is not very practical regardless of which program you use, including GM and some others.[/QUOTE]

MadFactory, you said I shouldn't use layouts but instead build my own world editor. Could you elaborate on that? :) Or do you know a good tutorial that explains it?

Thanks!
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 218

Post » Sun Nov 10, 2013 2:49 pm

If you making metroidvania game then you need to learn how to efficiently use arrays, ajax and external files. Then you will have an array per world with which you will be changing rooms on a single layout.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
85
S
27
G
20
Posts: 1,962
Reputation: 18,651

Post » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:23 am

[QUOTE=megatronx] Then you will have an array per world with which you will be changing rooms on a single layout. [/QUOTE]

Do you mean that I have to put all the rooms on a single layout ( like how you view the map in a castlevania game) or do you mean that I need to have a layout for switching/choosing rooms? I'm not so keen on the later.

The best would be if I could make all rooms in one layout, but just load smaller areas at a time when playing.
I have no idea how that would be made though.ChangingColor2013-11-12 02:31:59
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 218


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cliffu, Colludium and 3 guests