What would you like to see in the debugger

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:58 pm

- Ability to Open ( Maybe even Toggle it ) Console from the Browser, like the Chrome Console
B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,461

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:23 pm

- Ability to run the debugger when previewing a Node-Webkit project
- Ability to view values from more than one object simultaneously. Crossreferencing values on this is currently not doable, and text objects on the layout is still a better solution for it.
- Ability to set up what variables and values you want to debug beforehand so that it's focused on that from the start.inkBot2013-08-14 19:33:10
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:47 pm

Breakpoints, controlling the variables and expressions in real time, a ctrl+f4 key to start with the debugger from the start
B
38
S
8
G
3
Posts: 439
Reputation: 6,876

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

With the new step feature, also be able to step at different framerates other than 60fps (0.016dt), in case your target framerate is lower.
B
21
S
8
G
6
Posts: 346
Reputation: 4,891

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:23 pm

@Thndr - try stepping with a timescale greater than 1, e.g. 2 to simulate a step of 0.032 (corresponding to 30 FPS).Ashley2013-08-14 22:23:39
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:43 am

I have an idea that might be easy to add,

Next to each object put the current picked count in the parentheses too. (4 of 6) JudyScott2013-08-15 01:47:00
B
36
S
11
G
10
Posts: 13
Reputation: 8,702

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:22 am

Hi. Construct 2 continuously amazes me. Please keep up the excellent work!


Constant Local Variables and Local Variables without "Static" and "Constant" checked are missing.


Will editing array data be possible in a future Beta? (You could try to enable it by pausing, editing and then resuming if it proves troublesome in realtime).



I also noticed a simple bug: Whenever you load a layout that doesn't have an event sheet associated, the debugger crashes and shows the following message:

"Javascript error! Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'name' of null http://localhost:50000/system.js, line 225 (col undefined)" <= Chrome 28.0.1500.95 m

"Javascript error! Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'name' of null http://localhost:50000/system.js, line 219 (col 2)" <= IE 10.0.9200.16635




Thank you very much!

REDVWIN2013-08-15 03:28:15
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,779

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:11 am

I also agree about arrays as tables. I also hope there is a way, in the future, to make it not decrease performance so heavily.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,986

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:55 am

Fine tuning particle effects in debugger

It would be nice if we could save / export fine tuned particle effect parameters from the debugger.

Copy paste into a text editor works currently.mercy2013-08-15 09:57:18
B
29
S
5
G
5
Posts: 139
Reputation: 5,820

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:20 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] @Thndr - try stepping with a timescale greater than 1, e.g. 2 to simulate a step of 0.032 (corresponding to 30 FPS).[/QUOTE] Oh hey it interacts with the timescale number, did not notice that and thought it only did 60fps at timescale 1 all around.
B
21
S
8
G
6
Posts: 346
Reputation: 4,891

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests