When jumping against a wall

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:07 pm

Hey folks,

I have a problem in my progress of building a game.

My setup is build so that the wall constantly moves from right to left. I'm using platform+ and I have jump control on.
When my player is standing against a tall wall, and I tell it to jump, it's slides against the wall, and when it reach the top it jump all the way to the top of the screen.

I have already tried whit out platform+ and it didn't fix my problem.

I hope that you can help me
B
6
S
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 516

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:37 am

@PatrickWuk
Hey!
Please, put a capx to make your problem easier to understand and fix.
B
20
S
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 2,270

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:14 am

Message: PatrickWuk can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Zathan wrote:@PatrickWuk
Hey!
Please, put a capx to make your problem easier to understand and fix.


hi i have made an example of my problem

https://www.
dropbox.com/s/zb3apyg0xvx4tx7/When-jumping-against-a-wall.capx

I don't have permission to post a link.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 516

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:41 pm

@PatrickWuk
I don't know for sure why it is happening.. I think is because when you are on the moving wall and jump colliding the square dude side with the wall side, the wall movement causes the guy slightly "penetrates" the wall. That is causing the glitch.

Here is a workaround: https://db.tt/yTEodRGb
I'm used box colliders :)
Cheers
B
20
S
4
Posts: 385
Reputation: 2,270

Post » Tue Jul 01, 2014 12:27 pm

Message: PatrickWuk can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Zathan wrote:@PatrickWuk
I don't know for sure why it is happening.. I think is because when you are on the moving wall and jump colliding the square dude side with the wall side, the wall movement causes the guy slightly "penetrates" the wall. That is causing the glitch.

Here is a workaround: https://db.tt/yTEodRGb
I'm used box colliders :)
Cheers


Thank you, I tried it your way and it worked perfectly, but while I was fixing another problem I got this one fixed to.

I added a picture that shows how I ended up fixing the problem

Move speed = Bricks speed

fix.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 516


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ksiads, R0J0hound and 1 guest