Where can I find info about the config bar?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:29 pm

Can anyone tell me what the config bar is? I plan to buy the software regardless, I'm just wondering if the config bar is something I need now.

thanks in advance!!
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 829

Post » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:42 pm

Seems to be some sort of version control.

http://www.scirra.com/manual/50/add-configuration?utm_source=Add_Configuration_Dialog&utm_medium=SoftwareLink&utm_campaign=SoftwareHelpLink


Here's some info from the manual: http://www.scirra.com/manual/38/ribbon/page-1

Configurations allow you to set up different versions of your project without having to save multiple projects to disk. Active configurations sets which configurations are currently being edited. Since only one configuration can be displayed in the editor at a time, this is chosen with the Display configuration, which must also be an active configuration.
B
9
S
2
G
5
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,546

Post » Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:40 am

Well, it's sort of an in-progress feature. You can use it, but it doesn't do everything we want it to yet.

Configurations are just sort of tweaked versions of your project. So you could, for example, have two configurations: 'English' and 'French'. If you create the French config by copying the English, then go through and translate all the text objects to French, now you have two versions of your project in one - the French and English versions - and you can switch between them with the Configs bar.

However it's pretty limited and I don't think it's actually particularly useful yet, it's something we want to expand on in future.Ashley2011-12-28 01:40:41
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:50 am

Awesome, Thanks! You're always very helpful
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 829


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests