Where is the Animations Bar??

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:24 am

I had been working on some projects before easter where I used a lot of animations on objects.

Now, opening the same projects, I can't find the Animations Bar! Clicking on "Edit animations" opens an image in the Image Editor, but there is no way to open the Animations Bar, import strips or anything.

I have hunted through the entire interface of Construct 2, but have found no button or toggle or anything to switch on and off the Animations Bar.

Can anyone help?
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 441

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:33 am

Is it just a regular sprite that you're working on? As I've just discovered, 9 patch, tiled backgrounds and particle systems don't support animated images.
B
57
S
15
G
11
Posts: 912
Reputation: 12,606

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:06 am

Yes, regular sprite. And the odd thing is that it was working two weeks ago.
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 441

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:43 pm

Just to make sure, I started from scratch by:
  1. Reinstalling Construct 2 to make sure it had standard interface setup
  2. Opening an example project to make sure it didn't have any messed up sprites


As you can see from the screenshots, I clicked on "Edit animations" (it is not possible to select "Edit image" anymore...!?):


Then I got the picture editor, but without any Animations Bar:


Very mysterious!
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 441

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:46 pm

@helsekompetanse
Try resetting your dialog boxes. The preferences are under the start tab. I think the tab reads "reset dialogs" and is under the general preferences. Hope it helps! Its happened to me before.
B
20
S
2
Posts: 257
Reputation: 2,431

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:05 pm

It sounds like you were using Construct Classic, which has an animations bar, then recently upgraded to Construct 2, which has an animations editor instead of animations bar (double-click an object to open it).
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:25 pm

Also note that the animations dialog may some times end up under the sprite editor dialog, so move the sprite editor window up and you may find the animations dialog under it.
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,573

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:47 pm

It sometimes can end up offscreen if your resolution changes.
B
51
S
20
G
10
Posts: 571
Reputation: 9,819

Post » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:30 pm

Thank you resetting the interface in preferences worked! 'Animations' window now shows up. It was driving me nuts! I think the reason the Animations window did not show up is because after i installed the latest C2 update it did not refresh the newer interface making some panels not appear or hide under others. taa mate!NECROKRIEG2013-04-07 18:33:00
B
15
S
6
G
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 4,304


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: justifun and 11 guests