Why can't I see my sprites in layout view

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:54 pm

Hi,

In layout view I can't see any sprites (just empty blue boxes). I'm using Construct 2 Release 114 on a Windows 8 machine. See attached image (as you see if I open the image in the editor I can see it. Also, I can see all the sprites when I run the game) . Driving me nuts - any ideas?

Thanks,

Philip

PS This is a brand new installation of Construct 2.

philipjmurphy2013-01-13 23:56:17
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:22 am

Click on the layout. Access Project Properties - >Configuration settings. WHat is your current "Clear background" setting?IsometricRobot2013-01-14 02:22:53
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:29 am

It's set to 'No' at the moment.

Also, changing it doesn't appear to make any difference.philipjmurphy2013-01-14 02:30:37
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:52 am

Try to Make all your layers transparent and try to check your objects opacity ...
B
34
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,564

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:26 am

Update your graphic card drivers.
Most of the time it resolves this kind of issue.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:48 am

[QUOTE=Whiteclaws] Try to Make all your layers transparent and try to check your objects opacity ...[/QUOTE]

Hi thanks for the answer - objects have their opacity set to 100% on all layers. This issue presents itself even with the example projects.
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:03 pm

[QUOTE=Kyatric] Update your graphic card drivers.
Most of the time it resolves this kind of issue.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for the reply. That's what I was afraid the answer was going to be. I have a HP6910p laptop which comes with an ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 integrated card (and I've already got the latest drives, well as much as I can tell as the ATI upgrade utility can't detect my OS properly as it is Windows 8!!), so I think the only way out of this would be to upgrade the laptop - it's a bit weird that it all works except for the layout view.
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:34 pm

Hi Kyatric,

You spurred me on to have another look into what drivers I was using. I went to the HP site and noticed that they have Windows 7 AMD drivers (AMD = ATI - AMD bought the company). I was using a 2008 version which I've now upgraded to the 2009 version - 8.593.100.0 (21/05/2009) (version on HP site at this time is: 8.593.100.5090521A084776C (20 Nov 2009)), and lo and behold the sprites are now visible in the layout designer view - WOHOOOO!! Thanks for saving me as I wasn't quite ready to go out and buy a new laptop.

For anyone with similar issues this is a link to the HP site for the HP6910p video driver. Note that I have Windows 8 Pro 64-bit installed on this machine.

HP 6910p Video Driver site link

Here's a link to the main page for the 6910p HP support page which contains plenty of updates.

HP 6910p Support Page

BTW, after updating the driver and restarting Construct 2, I noticed that two of my sprites didn't display until I resized them in the animation editor. They were larger in size and were being scaled in the layout view. If they needed to be scaled down they were invisible, however, once I resized them in the animation editor they displayed perfectly in the layout view. The same problem exists for some of the demo project sprites, but at least I can work around it now.

Thanks again.

Philip
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:02 am

Actually, with regards the sprites disappearing until they are resized, the same can be achieved by adjusting the zoom level. Objects disappear as you zoom out further and then reappear as you zoom back in.
B
6
Posts: 6
Reputation: 714

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:10 am

I wanted to post that I'm also having this issue now, and it's really frustrating. Once you zoom out or scroll up, stuff disappears.
B
17
S
3
Posts: 225
Reputation: 2,358

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests