why does my app go so slow?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 27, 2016 2:56 am

I can run in browser on android and it flies.

but when I create the cordova apk with intel xmx it goes so slow it glitches.
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Post » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:10 pm

Mobile devices are bad about Performance.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:40 pm

gumshoe2029 wrote:Mobile devices are bad about Performance.


I have read that post about performance. It is not really helpful as my first app is just a flappy clone for testing how to compile an apk.

There are no ads so that is not effecting the performance.
there are only 5 objects in the game. the flappy, the pipes, the score and back ground.

when run as web app it flies on the same device so much so that I will need to set slower speed for pipes.
but when compiled as apk and run on the same device. it goes so slow that one tap is like 3 taps. it jumps up and up and up. so you can't even clear the first pipe.

Edit 1) I think I will try compiling without cordova and see what happens.
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Post » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:41 pm

Yea, try pre-compressing images too. C2 does some compression on export, but it helps more if you have smaller input images to begin with.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:42 am

gumshoe2029 wrote:Yea, try pre-compressing images too. C2 does some compression on export, but it helps more if you have smaller input images to begin with.


yah! I thought about that, but the manual said that did not have any effect on performance. Will see if that helps. I tried low dpi setting but did not see much of a difference.

Edit:) I also thought about trying phonegap it export to see if it would make a difference.
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:56 am

Have you tried Cocoon.IO?

It still sounds strange with the description of what your game features because those things shouldn't have a problem running on mobile.
Risk Rocket now available on Google Play
Image
B
36
S
15
G
6
Posts: 337
Reputation: 6,300

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:47 am

I just created the phonegap build and it is a little better. but still slow, but the camera is working. Thank god for that as it is my main selling point of my snappy app collection.

see Snappy Flappy at link provided. for android and winphone so far as I don't have an apple dev account.

viewtopic.php?f=148&t=170594
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:49 am

Usman Haq wrote:Have you tried Cocoon.IO?

It still sounds strange with the description of what your game features because those things shouldn't have a problem running on mobile.


that's what I am saying. check out the demo release I just posted.
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:29 pm

Carbincopy wrote:
gumshoe2029 wrote:Yea, try pre-compressing images too. C2 does some compression on export, but it helps more if you have smaller input images to begin with.


yah! I thought about that, but the manual said that did not have any effect on performance. Will see if that helps. I tried low dpi setting but did not see much of a difference.

Edit:) I also thought about trying phonegap it export to see if it would make a difference.


I can assure you that it makes a huge difference. We have an overly enthusiastic artist who outputs images in the 2000x5000px size range, and I have to resize these images in an image processor before importing them into C2 otherwise we pay a hundredfold in performance.

I said compression, but I actually meant resizing.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:07 am

gumshoe2029 wrote:
Carbincopy wrote:
gumshoe2029 wrote:Yea, try pre-compressing images too. C2 does some compression on export, but it helps more if you have smaller input images to begin with.


yah! I thought about that, but the manual said that did not have any effect on performance. Will see if that helps. I tried low dpi setting but did not see much of a difference.

Edit:) I also thought about trying phonegap it export to see if it would make a difference.


I can assure you that it makes a huge difference. We have an overly enthusiastic artist who outputs images in the 2000x5000px size range, and I have to resize these images in an image processor before importing them into C2 otherwise we pay a hundredfold in performance.

I said compression, but I actually meant resizing.


Thanks I will look in to compressing and resizing and see if it helps.
B
29
S
13
G
10
Posts: 355
Reputation: 8,327

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lordshiva1948 and 7 guests